![]() |
|
|||
Think I missed One - Obstruction at 1B
Can you call obstruction at 1B if there is a fielder behind the safety base that causes the runner to slow down?
Tonight in a 12B ASA Tournament had grounder to 1B, 2B covers 1B but 1B decides to take it. 2B moves over behind the safety base while 1B tags the white base on a close play before the B/R touches and I call her out. The B/R slows down due to 2B being behind the safety base, maybe 2 feet. She would have run over the 2B had she continued through the base. I think I should have signaled obstruction and awarded her 1B. I haven't reread the Obstruction rule tonight but would appreciate comments.
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA |
|
|||
If a defensive player, without the ball, caused a runner to alter her chosen path to the base, you've got obstruction. So, yeah, it does sound like you missed that one.
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
2) To me, the OP sequence "1B tags the white base ... before the B/R touches ... The B/R slows down" was unclear about which happened first.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I guess the OP could clarify the OP, but then we would have to find another. I'm just making the point that the effect on the runner only matters if she isn't already out when she slows or otherwise alters. If she was past the base or already out and then slowed down because of F4, it's not OBS.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
You guys are funny but it's still vivid in my mind - she slowed down right before the 1B stomped the white base. I believe she would have been safe, and I should have called the obstruction.
![]()
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA |
|
|||
Quote:
That's about what I thought you meant in your original post. Now that yo're sure what the call should have been, how will you handle this the next time?
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
having coached 10 years I usually know what is right upon reflection or can ask in this forum thanks to you guys, it's doing it as it happens that is the challenge, i never thought it would be easy and hopefully I will get it right the next time - did 4 games the next day to complete the 10U bracket for the tournament though no similiar play
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA |
|
|||
What the heck was 2B doing over there anyways? Sounds like a coaching error to me. I personally can't think of an instance where the second baseman (person) would be that close to 1B to cover the bag.
__________________
Thomas Hamkens North Dakota ASA Umpire Verlangsamen Sie Wurf weicher Ball ist ein wirklicher Sport |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
I apologize for hijacking this thread.
__________________
Thomas Hamkens North Dakota ASA Umpire Verlangsamen Sie Wurf weicher Ball ist ein wirklicher Sport |
|
|||
Quote:
F1 is at least 42 feet away from 1B (half the distance of the 84 feet between 1B and 3B) and has been taught to assume a fielding position after finishing the delivery. F4's job on a ground ball to F3 is to back up the play in case it gets by F3 and then on to 1B to cover. Standard positioning of F4 is about 30 feet from 1B, and while F1 is stationary, F4 is moving towards the ball on contact. This puts F4 at least 20 feet closer to 1B than F1. There is no way in softball for F1 to get to 1B ahead of F4. I'll bet you a steak dinner on this and I like eating steak on other people's money. The only catch is that the steak must come from planet Earth.
__________________
Tony |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Drake - sorry I missed you | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 13 | Thu Jul 25, 2002 09:21pm |
Missed base | Dakota | Softball | 13 | Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am |
Missed base | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 14 | Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm |
Missed 2 bases! | Robert G | Baseball | 2 | Tue May 15, 2001 10:39pm |
Missed Base | jclangley | Baseball | 10 | Wed Apr 18, 2001 08:42pm |