The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2006, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I do not agree with those who take the position that the runners are responsibile for knowing the game situation and therefore treat an uncalled IF as if it were a called IF. That makes no sense to me (as WMB says, at least in ASA - but I would state it more to my point - at least under any rules that allow the IF to be called after-the-fact, as ASA does).

Do not forget... there are two component to the IF:

1) The game situation (force at 3rd, less than 2 outs), and

2) A fly ball that in the umpire's judgment can be caught with ordinary effort by an infielder.

The runners cannot get inside the umpire's head, nor can they substitute their own judgment for his. If the IF is not called, their only choice is to advance, because they are now forced to advance.

If the IF is called after-the-fact, rule 10-6-C (ASA) provides the umpire with the responsibility for fixing the fact that his delayed call placed the runners in jeopardy by forcing them to run.

Assuming the judgment was correct in the OP situation (ordinary effort and all that), the actions by the umpires was correct (assuming ASA).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2006, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I do not agree with those who take the position that the runners are responsibile for knowing the game situation and therefore treat an uncalled IF as if it were a called IF. That makes no sense to me (as WMB says, at least in ASA - but I would state it more to my point - at least under any rules that allow the IF to be called after-the-fact, as ASA does).

Do not forget... there are two component to the IF:

1) The game situation (force at 3rd, less than 2 outs), and

2) A fly ball that in the umpire's judgment can be caught with ordinary effort by an infielder.

The runners cannot get inside the umpire's head, nor can they substitute their own judgment for his. If the IF is not called, their only choice is to advance, because they are now forced to advance.

If the IF is called after-the-fact, rule 10-6-C (ASA) provides the umpire with the responsibility for fixing the fact that his delayed call placed the runners in jeopardy by forcing them to run.

Assuming the judgment was correct in the OP situation (ordinary effort and all that), the actions by the umpires was correct (assuming ASA).
I honestly am asking for clarification on this, Tom. Are you saying that you wouldn't enforce an IFR AFTER the play was over? Is that the proper way in ASA? I know in Fed. there is an undeclared IF. I don't particularly like it but it gives an umpire a way to correct a mistake.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2006, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
No, I am saying I would (in addition to enforcing the IF) correct the jeopardy I placed the runners in with the late call. That is, return runners who attempted to advanced under the forced to advance situation and were tagged out.

Obviously, force outs no longer stand (since the IF removed the force).

These situations are HTBT, but in general, the "needs to know the situation" principle only applies up to when umpire judgment comes in. At that point, there is no "situation" to know.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2006, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Robertson
Hypothetical situation:

Bases loaded with none out. Batter hits a high fly ball that appears to be headed for the outfield. Suddenly a gust of wind blows it back into the infield. The umpires don't react quickly and the ball lands near the shortstop. The shortstop picks up the ball and starts a home-to-third double play. The offensive team complains that this should have been called an infield fly.

Can the umpires call "infield fly" after the fact (declaring the batter out and returning the runners to their bases)?
Wind is the one thing that can be a factor on whether or not to call IFR....
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2006, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Infield Fly

I have been lurking and watching for a while. I am really moved to ask those of you who have said that if you made the call late and runners were put out subsequent to having been placed in jeopardy by your "mistake", that you would try to make them whole and return them to the base they left. In that same situation, had the runners made it to the next base without being put out, would you also return them to their previous bases respectively. I don't think so, therefore, you can't undo the out, legitimately. (IMHO)

Please help me to understand the difference.

Duane
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2006, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Igotthetag
I have been lurking and watching for a while. I am really moved to ask those of you who have said that if you made the call late and runners were put out subsequent to having been placed in jeopardy by your "mistake", that you would try to make them whole and return them to the base they left. In that same situation, had the runners made it to the next base without being put out, would you also return them to their previous bases respectively. I don't think so, therefore, you can't undo the out, legitimately. (IMHO)

Please help me to understand the difference.

Duane
No reason to be moved - it's in the rulebook. If your wrong call or mishandled call puts a player in jeopardy, the umpire has the responsiblity to fix the problem. Runners that made it to the next base were not jeopardized - therefore their advance would remain.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too late for me, but.... justacoach Basketball 10 Mon May 29, 2006 01:28pm
Infield Fly Call sm_bbcoach Baseball 11 Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:23am
Erroneous Infield Fly Call whistleone Softball 5 Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:10pm
Infield Fly if you don't call it immediately FUBLUE Softball 19 Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:16am
late hit F C E Football 5 Thu Oct 31, 2002 09:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1