The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 17, 2006, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
I agree with bluezebra. I have to interpret "passing a base" as attempting to reach the next base. An overrun or overslide is not necessarily passing the base especially if the runner is trying like all digdogs to get back to the base she missed. As long as the runner is attempting to rreach that base without any attempt to advance, that play is still on that runner. The force is on
Fine for your interpretation. That, however, is not ASA's interpretation. The runner has achieved the base. There is no force on a runner attempting to return to a base after an overslide, any more than there is for a runner attempting to return to a base after rounding. The runner was merely tagged for being off the base, unless there is an appeal.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1