The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 11, 2006, 12:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Our clinic leader pointed out that in the book the coach only has the option of the play or the award if the batter does not reach and/or all runners do not advance at least one base. If everyone advances safely, OBS is ignored.
In the situation I described in the OP, he said that we should award the Batter 1B and R1 home. That is based on the part of the ruled that cancels the OBS if ALL runners advance at least 1 base.

I am trying to read it that way but I cannot. Scoring the run on CO when the runner is not forced doesn't seem right.
Help
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 11, 2006, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Warren Ohio
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
Our clinic leader pointed out that in the book the coach only has the option of the play or the award if the batter does not reach and/or all runners do not advance at least one base. If everyone advances safely, OBS is ignored.
In the situation I described in the OP, he said that we should award the Batter 1B and R1 home. That is based on the part of the ruled that cancels the OBS if ALL runners advance at least 1 base.

I am trying to read it that way but I cannot. Scoring the run on CO when the runner is not forced doesn't seem right.
Help
He's correct.

Rule 8.2f 1-3...
When the catcher or any other fielder obstructs or hinders the batter from striking at or hitting a pitched ball
1.The Umpire shall signal "delayed Dead Ball"
2.The offensive team manager has the option of taking the base award on the batter for catcher obstruction, or he may take the result of the play
3.If thr batter reaches 1st base safety and all runner advance at least one base on the batted ball, catcher obstruction is cancelled and no option is given.(my emphasis)
The NSA rule says nothing about runners advancing only when forced. They are all entitled to advance one base.
__________________
Screen name should be MattV
but I'm stuck with this one.
OHSAA/ASA/NSA/PONY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 11, 2006, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotmatt
The NSA rule says nothing about runners advancing only when forced. They are all entitled to advance one base.
Not true. NSA 8-5 "Runers are entitled to advance: (c) When forced to vacate a base because the batter was awarded a base for CO."


WMB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 11, 2006, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
he said that we should award the Batter 1B and R1 home. That is based on the part of the ruled that cancels the OBS if ALL runners advance at least 1 base. Help
It is your clinician that needs help, TC. Maybe you can be that help and show him where he missed the boat.

The Advance Of All Runners is as the result of the play - not from a penalty applied. See NSA 8-2 (f) 3: "if all other runners advance at least one base on the batted ball, CO is cancelled and no option is given"

The ONLY penalty for CO is awarding batter to 1B. That's it! (NSA 8-2 (f)2.) Any other runners will advance only as a result of being forced by the batter going to 1B, not from a penalty. NSA 8-5 (c)

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 11, 2006, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
It is your clinician that needs help, TC. Maybe you can be that help and show him where he missed the boat.

The Advance Of All Runners is as the result of the play - not from a penalty applied. See NSA 8-2 (f) 3: "if all other runners advance at least one base on the batted ball, CO is cancelled and no option is given"

The ONLY penalty for CO is awarding batter to 1B. That's it! (NSA 8-2 (f)2.) Any other runners will advance only as a result of being forced by the batter going to 1B, not from a penalty. NSA 8-5 (c)

WMB
I kept seeing "The base awarded the batter" but his point was since everyone advancing negates the award then award must be that everyone advances.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catcher USC? NSABlue Softball 4 Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:03am
No Catcher brainbrian Baseball 13 Mon May 16, 2005 09:34am
Catcher Out Of Box emaxos Softball 19 Tue Apr 12, 2005 09:16am
catcher obs (FED) scyguy Baseball 3 Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:22am
Should I have called catcher obstruction? Dakota Softball 2 Wed Jun 12, 2002 07:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1