The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NSA - Catcher Obstruction (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27751-nsa-catcher-obstruction.html)

tcblue13 Thu Aug 10, 2006 08:33pm

NSA - Catcher Obstruction
 
R1 on 3B
B2 obstructed by F2 rolls dribbler to F5 who looks R1 back to 3B
F5 throws to F3 making a play on B2

Umpires call dead ball (CO was DDB)

What is the ruling and award(s)?

Blu_IN Thu Aug 10, 2006 09:50pm

Re
 
BR awarded first base. Runners advance if forced. Unless the offensive coach would like to take the result of the play.

orangeump Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:37pm

I bet that that this thread gets way more posts than needed, Blu In just nailed this answer....

good work blu

WestMichBlue Fri Aug 11, 2006 12:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
F5 throws to F3 making a play on B2.

What is the ruling and award(s)?

NSA is just like most everyone else - if an obstructed batter reaches 1B safely and all other runners advance at least one base then CO is waived off.

From the OP we don't know if B2 was out or safe at 1B. However, R1 did not advance so O-Coach gets option. If B2 was out, coach should select penalty for CO and have B2 placed at 1B. If B2 was safe, it doesn't matter; coach can leave her there.

Either way, R1 is NOT forced to advance by B2 reaching 1B so she will not be sent home.

WMB

tcblue13 Fri Aug 11, 2006 12:45am

Our clinic leader pointed out that in the book the coach only has the option of the play or the award if the batter does not reach and/or all runners do not advance at least one base. If everyone advances safely, OBS is ignored.
In the situation I described in the OP, he said that we should award the Batter 1B and R1 home. That is based on the part of the ruled that cancels the OBS if ALL runners advance at least 1 base.

I am trying to read it that way but I cannot. Scoring the run on CO when the runner is not forced doesn't seem right.
Help

hotmatt Fri Aug 11, 2006 07:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
Our clinic leader pointed out that in the book the coach only has the option of the play or the award if the batter does not reach and/or all runners do not advance at least one base. If everyone advances safely, OBS is ignored.
In the situation I described in the OP, he said that we should award the Batter 1B and R1 home. That is based on the part of the ruled that cancels the OBS if ALL runners advance at least 1 base.

I am trying to read it that way but I cannot. Scoring the run on CO when the runner is not forced doesn't seem right.
Help

He's correct.

Rule 8.2f 1-3...
When the catcher or any other fielder obstructs or hinders the batter from striking at or hitting a pitched ball
1.The Umpire shall signal "delayed Dead Ball"
2.The offensive team manager has the option of taking the base award on the batter for catcher obstruction, or he may take the result of the play
3.If thr batter reaches 1st base safety and all runner advance at least one base on the batted ball, catcher obstruction is cancelled and no option is given.(my emphasis)
The NSA rule says nothing about runners advancing only when forced. They are all entitled to advance one base.

WestMichBlue Fri Aug 11, 2006 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hotmatt
The NSA rule says nothing about runners advancing only when forced. They are all entitled to advance one base.

Not true. NSA 8-5 "Runers are entitled to advance: (c) When forced to vacate a base because the batter was awarded a base for CO."


WMB

WestMichBlue Fri Aug 11, 2006 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
he said that we should award the Batter 1B and R1 home. That is based on the part of the ruled that cancels the OBS if ALL runners advance at least 1 base. Help

It is your clinician that needs help, TC. Maybe you can be that help and show him where he missed the boat.

The Advance Of All Runners is as the result of the play - not from a penalty applied. See NSA 8-2 (f) 3: "if all other runners advance at least one base on the batted ball, CO is cancelled and no option is given"

The ONLY penalty for CO is awarding batter to 1B. That's it! (NSA 8-2 (f)2.) Any other runners will advance only as a result of being forced by the batter going to 1B, not from a penalty. NSA 8-5 (c)

WMB

tcblue13 Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
It is your clinician that needs help, TC. Maybe you can be that help and show him where he missed the boat.

The Advance Of All Runners is as the result of the play - not from a penalty applied. See NSA 8-2 (f) 3: "if all other runners advance at least one base on the batted ball, CO is cancelled and no option is given"

The ONLY penalty for CO is awarding batter to 1B. That's it! (NSA 8-2 (f)2.) Any other runners will advance only as a result of being forced by the batter going to 1B, not from a penalty. NSA 8-5 (c)

WMB

I kept seeing "The base awarded the batter" but his point was since everyone advancing negates the award then award must be that everyone advances.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1