The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12
DoubleBaseQuestion

Greetings Umpires,
Discussion concerning the safety base insued this past weekend. I throw it out for discussion...
B1 hits a routine ground ball to the shortstop who fields clean and makes the throw slightly high to F3 who A: is standing with part of her foot on the white and part on the orange or B: has to hop up to grab the ball and comes down half on white half on orange. In both scenerios, B1 is thrown out by the throw contacting only the orange part of the base.

My question is Does contact with any part of the orange part of the base violate the rule regarding "must use the white part" by the defense
Your thoughts please!!
Thanks
Don
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonP
Greetings Umpires,
Discussion concerning the safety base insued this past weekend. I throw it out for discussion...
B1 hits a routine ground ball to the shortstop who fields clean and makes the throw slightly high to F3 who A: is standing with part of her foot on the white and part on the orange or B: has to hop up to grab the ball and comes down half on white half on orange. In both scenerios, B1 is thrown out by the throw contacting only the orange part of the base.

My question is Does contact with any part of the orange part of the base violate the rule regarding "must use the white part" by the defense
Your thoughts please!!
Thanks
Don
The fact that F3 has any part of her foot "on" any part of either base demonstrates that she doesn't know how to play the position and, obviously the coach isn't any help. That'll teach you to ask for my thoughts

Now that I got that off my chest, the answer to your question is "no" and it works both ways. You will see many, if not most, of the adult SP BRs hit both bases simultaneously. I believe the real reason is that they are either color-blind, or not smart enough to remember which one they are supposed to hit
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 03:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
I think the way to look at your question is to consider what you would do if the orange bag did not exist.

If the fielder is touching part of the white bag and part of her foot is in foul territory, would you give her the out? Of course you would.

Now put the safety base next to the white base. Does this limit the area where the fielder can have her foot? I.e., can she still have her foot partly on the white bag and partly hanging off into foul territory, even if that part of foul territory is covered by a safety bag? I would say yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12
While I agree with your premise alaskaump, the difference is the orange base is a safety issue. The ASA has determined that player collisions should be avoided , hence the modification to the obstruction rule, no crashing in to a fielder with the ball, etc... The doublebase at first base is another rule that is suppose to make the game a little less riskier to play. Hence the wording the fielder must use the white base.... I agree with you mike, they should not be standing ON the base, they should be touchng the side of the base, but 12,14U are still learning the proper mechanics, thus my point, should F3 be penalized for having contact with the orange base? The rule does not say that a collision has to occur, it just says she must use the white base. There are several situations already that relieve the fielder of that requirement, IE from foul territory. But the rule says "the defense must use the white portion of the base" which means not having contact with the orange part. Yes-No??
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonP
should F3 be penalized for having contact with the orange base?
No.

The only call here is out, unless you judge the fielder obstructed the BR before she had possession of the ball. Possible in "A", not likely in "B".
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonP
While I agree with your premise alaskaump, the difference is the orange base is a safety issue. The ASA has determined that player collisions should be avoided , hence the modification to the obstruction rule, no crashing in to a fielder with the ball, etc... The doublebase at first base is another rule that is suppose to make the game a little less riskier to play. Hence the wording the fielder must use the white base.... I agree with you mike, they should not be standing ON the base, they should be touchng the side of the base, but 12,14U are still learning the proper mechanics, thus my point, should F3 be penalized for having contact with the orange base? The rule does not say that a collision has to occur, it just says she must use the white base. There are several situations already that relieve the fielder of that requirement, IE from foul territory. But the rule says "the defense must use the white portion of the base" which means not having contact with the orange part. Yes-No??
If your premise were true, then we would only need a sliver of the base for the player to put their foot on, right? The entire base is there because the entire base is in play. (I hope that made as much sense as it did in my head)
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
If your premise were true, then we would only need a sliver of the base for the player to put their foot on, right? The entire base is there because the entire base is in play. (I hope that made as much sense as it did in my head)
Larry,
I can see brain cells turning! You are right, the entire base is in play, that means both the entire orange part and the entire white part. So when a defense player is partially on the orange, they might as well be entirely on the orange. When the rule book says the defense must use the white portion that would mean they can not use the orange portion.
Which brings me back to my main point. Should a runner be called safe if the defense uses part of the orange base on a play requiring them to use only the white?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1