View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 06:42pm
DonP DonP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12
DoubleBaseQuestion

Greetings Umpires,
Discussion concerning the safety base insued this past weekend. I throw it out for discussion...
B1 hits a routine ground ball to the shortstop who fields clean and makes the throw slightly high to F3 who A: is standing with part of her foot on the white and part on the orange or B: has to hop up to grab the ball and comes down half on white half on orange. In both scenerios, B1 is thrown out by the throw contacting only the orange part of the base.

My question is Does contact with any part of the orange part of the base violate the rule regarding "must use the white part" by the defense
Your thoughts please!!
Thanks
Don
Reply With Quote