The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
The rest of the story....

Here is how I heard the conclusion of this situation.

The umpires on the field decided that it was F4's intention to tag R2 and throw to first for a double play on the BR. F4 was willing to let the run score to get the double play. This is also the decision that the two coaches had agreed to accept. Game resumed with the run scored, bases empty, and two outs.

After the game, the tournament UIC, who saw the whole play, sent a description to Merle and asked for a ruling. The ruling that came back from the office was to use the "God" rule - 10.1 and........







DO IT OVER!

R1 back to third, R2 back to first, BR back to bat with the count the same as it was when the ball was hit.

I was very skeptical of this answer when I heard it, but the umpire relaying the story was insistant that this was correct. I would really like to verify this from another source.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy
After the game, the tournament UIC, who saw the whole play, sent a description to Merle and asked for a ruling. The ruling that came back from the office was to use the "God" rule - 10.1 and........

DO IT OVER!

R1 back to third, R2 back to first, BR back to bat with the count the same as it was when the ball was hit.
Well, of all the options discussed so far, that is without a doubt my least favorite.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I can think of NO situation for which the proper fix would be a Do Over.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I can think of NO situation for which the proper fix would be a Do Over.
I can think of one that used to be in the ASA rule book
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I can think of NO situation for which the proper fix would be a Do Over.
I can
If your're in the Twilight Zone using NFL refs who somehow see offsetting penalties.

__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I can think of NO situation for which the proper fix would be a Do Over.
The fielder using an illegal glove (used to include using a mitt when not play F2 or F3) results in the option of a do-over.

I cannot believe that was the official ruling; I have heard both Merle and Henry state many times that a do-over is not appropriate for anything other than the illegal glove/mitt. Someone is in error, I believe.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
The fielder using an illegal glove (used to include using a mitt when not play F2 or F3) results in the option of a do-over.

I cannot believe that was the official ruling; I have heard both Merle and Henry state many times that a do-over is not appropriate for anything other than the illegal glove/mitt. Someone is in error, I believe.
Let's not forget option "b" of an unreported sub making a play on defense
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I can think of NO situation for which the proper fix would be a Do Over.
A VERY veteran umpire on my HS and College board got away with it once. Here's the sitch:

College game - R1 on 2nd, no outs, 3-2 count on the batter. Runner off with the pitch, batter hits a screamer right at the shortstop who is blasted by the runner. My buddy kills the play for the obvious interference - only to see the pitcher turn around with the ball in her glove! Evidently, she made a helluva play! He asked his partner "how are we gonna get out of this?" to which his partner said, "what do you mean 'WE'?" He got both coaches together and said "here's what we are gonna do - runner back on 2nd, batter back in the box 3-2 count" - they both said "OK Jack, if you say so." I don't know of anyone else that could have pulled it off.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy
Here is how I heard the conclusion of this situation.

The umpires on the field decided that it was F4's intention to tag R2 and throw to first for a double play on the BR. F4 was willing to let the run score to get the double play. This is also the decision that the two coaches had agreed to accept. Game resumed with the run scored, bases empty, and two outs.

After the game, the tournament UIC, who saw the whole play, sent a description to Merle and asked for a ruling. The ruling that came back from the office was to use the "God" rule - 10.1 and........







DO IT OVER!

R1 back to third, R2 back to first, BR back to bat with the count the same as it was when the ball was hit.

I was very skeptical of this answer when I heard it, but the umpire relaying the story was insistant that this was correct. I would really like to verify this from another source.

LOL

OK I would like to clarify my position.. while I dont believe there is a necessarily "correct answer".. there are definately incorrect answers, with 'do over' being top of the list.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 NFHS Rules Changes - "Step and Reach" Dakota Softball 8 Mon Jul 10, 2006 02:46pm
"Double play" (of sorts)... Dakota Softball 0 Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:59pm
"Leaving Early" (pitch) to pull up socks Dakota Softball 17 Fri May 26, 2006 12:57pm
Charles Barkley's "brutal NBA refs" comments jeffpea Basketball 16 Thu May 18, 2006 10:02am
Wonderful article - "Love of the Game" jeffpea Basketball 0 Mon May 15, 2006 12:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1