Thread: "The play"
View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 10:04pm
wadeintothem wadeintothem is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy
Here is how I heard the conclusion of this situation.

The umpires on the field decided that it was F4's intention to tag R2 and throw to first for a double play on the BR. F4 was willing to let the run score to get the double play. This is also the decision that the two coaches had agreed to accept. Game resumed with the run scored, bases empty, and two outs.

After the game, the tournament UIC, who saw the whole play, sent a description to Merle and asked for a ruling. The ruling that came back from the office was to use the "God" rule - 10.1 and........







DO IT OVER!

R1 back to third, R2 back to first, BR back to bat with the count the same as it was when the ball was hit.

I was very skeptical of this answer when I heard it, but the umpire relaying the story was insistant that this was correct. I would really like to verify this from another source.

LOL

OK I would like to clarify my position.. while I dont believe there is a necessarily "correct answer".. there are definately incorrect answers, with 'do over' being top of the list.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote