![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
The runner was protected between the two bases... but at the same time. The runner had already safely reached the base you would award her had there been no obs (1B).. So essentially, you should have either called her out IMO or given her 2B to be consistent on the call.. My brain is tired, long day at work and a double header of female SP (no I didnt slit my wrists).. It seems to me once the runner reaches the protected base, they are no longer protected. By your own ruling after the fact, you didnt protect her to 2nd.. you seem to have a .. "well shes protected to 1b.. then between 1b-2b and if shes out she goes to 1b" Personnally, i dont see justication for that "grant in part deny in part" type ruling within ASA rules. In the heat of a game a ruling where everyone is happy is a good one so hey its all good... but here I like to thrash the wheat a little and learn from it.Quote:
IMO, your argument has less to do with an DDB signal and OBS than it does with the power of a umpire to rectify a situation they caused. You recognize your DDB signal caused the coach to send his runner and you fixed it. And thats fine you did that, but thats mixing the two rule sets into one. Thats a different matter than making the argument DDB/OBS ruling was exactly correct, those are two different rule sets .. either that runner was protected to 2b or to 1b.. cant be both, and if 1b, that runner passed her protected base.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Obstruction, Interference, Double Play???? | JRSooner | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 02:02am |
| Play with Obstruction | Duke | Softball | 18 | Sat May 28, 2005 01:14pm |
| OBR Obstruction: B becomes A - Play | mikebran | Baseball | 10 | Sat Mar 19, 2005 03:07pm |
| ASA - Obstruction or good play | SamNVa | Softball | 25 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 01:09pm |
| Weird Obstruction/Interference Play | gmtomko | Baseball | 11 | Thu Apr 24, 2003 05:36am |