![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes, the arm out is a DDB signal, not an "obstruction" signal, so it is used for multiple DDB infractions.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
|
|||
|
There is obviously no standard for how long to hold the arm out, but if the Dead Ball is still possible after the Delay, then DDB is still applicable. Of course, as Mike said, some of us are not athletic enough to run full speed with our arm out, so it boils down to being practical and the need to comunicate in any given situation.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
The runner was protected between the two bases... but at the same time. The runner had already safely reached the base you would award her had there been no obs (1B).. So essentially, you should have either called her out IMO or given her 2B to be consistent on the call.. My brain is tired, long day at work and a double header of female SP (no I didnt slit my wrists).. It seems to me once the runner reaches the protected base, they are no longer protected. By your own ruling after the fact, you didnt protect her to 2nd.. you seem to have a .. "well shes protected to 1b.. then between 1b-2b and if shes out she goes to 1b" Personnally, i dont see justication for that "grant in part deny in part" type ruling within ASA rules. In the heat of a game a ruling where everyone is happy is a good one so hey its all good... but here I like to thrash the wheat a little and learn from it.Quote:
IMO, your argument has less to do with an DDB signal and OBS than it does with the power of a umpire to rectify a situation they caused. You recognize your DDB signal caused the coach to send his runner and you fixed it. And thats fine you did that, but thats mixing the two rule sets into one. Thats a different matter than making the argument DDB/OBS ruling was exactly correct, those are two different rule sets .. either that runner was protected to 2b or to 1b.. cant be both, and if 1b, that runner passed her protected base.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1) To the base she would have acheived in the umpire's judgment had there been no obs, and 2) Between the bases where the obstruction occurred. #2 is always in force, regardless of what base is determined by #1. They are separate aspects of the runner's protection and are not dependent upon each other. There is nothing inconsistent about protecting the runner to 1B on OBS that occurred between 1B and 2B. It is true that if the runner obtains the base she was protected to, she is no longer protected between the bases, but that condition comes into play after the obstruction has occurred. In the OP situation, the obstruction continued beyond the point the runner reached 1B, so she was protected back to first and could not be put out between 1B and 2B.
__________________
Tom |
|
||||||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
I think the part that may have me confused is the wording of the rule and which portion of the rule is applied with a higher precedence.
i dont have a rule book at work (mcroweder et al) but the two applicable aspects are essentially.. - A runner cant be put out between the two bases where obstructed. and - A runner who attempts to advance beyond the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction may be put out. There are plays (such as the OP's) where this can come into conflict... and the suggestion that once there is obstruction between two bases, that at all times between those two bases (barring another infraction of the rules) there is a "free play" in effect for the off. The manner in which this is being applied by those who know on this board could suggest that a wording change is in order. So a similar play (in application).. R1@1B. F2 attempts pick off on the pitch. F3 blocks a diving R1 from the bag without the ball, and OBS/DDB is called/signalled. the ball sails over F3. R1 gets up and attempts 2B. F9 backing up the play catches the ball and throws to F6 who legally applies a tag prior to R1 reaching 2B. Now if the ruling is DB, R1 is safe at 1B.. then I stand corrected but suggest the following wording change.. "If the runner attempts to advance beyond the two bases where the OBS occured... they may be put out". As it reads now, clearly the runner was going into 1B when the OBS occured, but equally clear, the runner is attempting to advance beyond the base they would have reached had there been no OBS (and a play had been made)---1B. The rules clearly state that if a runner attempts to advance beyond the base they would have reached had there been no OBS, they may be put out.. in this instance its obvious the runner was attempting 1B at the time of OBS.. That is being said to be disregarded between the two bases where OBS occured.. and a punitive free play is in place for the Off between 1B and 2B. I never interpretted OBS this way, but i'm guessing that that is wrong.. dunno.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
What does he call it?
Running around with your wing stuck out? Something like that. The first time I read it I LOL
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
It has been a bear
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Obstruction, Interference, Double Play???? | JRSooner | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 02:02am |
| Play with Obstruction | Duke | Softball | 18 | Sat May 28, 2005 01:14pm |
| OBR Obstruction: B becomes A - Play | mikebran | Baseball | 10 | Sat Mar 19, 2005 03:07pm |
| ASA - Obstruction or good play | SamNVa | Softball | 25 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 01:09pm |
| Weird Obstruction/Interference Play | gmtomko | Baseball | 11 | Thu Apr 24, 2003 05:36am |