![]() |
|
|
|||
ASA Rules - No slide at the plate.. is ball dead ?
Last night while playing in a rec softball game there was a situation that arose that I was hoping somebody may give me some clarity to . I will let you know up front that the call went against us but I was not upset because a) it is rec softball and b) we were losing by quite a bit anyway and this had no bearing on the outcome .
Situation : Runner on second and first and there is a base hit to right field and there is a play at the plate . The ball and the runner get to home plate at the same time . The runner does not slide and knocks the catcher over . The ball then gets away from the catcher allowing the runner who was on first as well as the batter to score . The runner who was involved in the play at the plate is declared out because he did not slide (It was not malicious...he just ran him over) . Question : My question is should the ball be dead at this point because the runner did not slide ? My opinion : From my perspective if the catcher was not knocked over the the ball would not have gotten past him allowing the other two runners to score .(Actually the ball probably would have gotten by our catcher anyway because he really does not live up to his position title but lets assume he can catch a little bit ![]() HELP : Trust me I have no problems if I am wrong I just want to understand this a little better . If somebody can provide the rule that covers this (If there is one) that would be great . |
|
|||
Quote:
In standard ASA, the runner might have been declared out for crash interference (dead ball, runner out, other runners return to their bases as the time of the interference). He might also have been declared out for flagrant misconduct due to taking out the catcher (also dead ball, runners return, etc.). He would not have been declared out merely for not sliding, however. If you have a local rule, does it state whether the ball is live or dead?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Ok my bad . I thought it was a uniform rule that you can't run over the catcher (Again, it was not malicious the guy just evidently did not want to slide) . I guess that was my first error...
The umpire was a certified ASA guy and I thought he was handling the game using ASA rules but we do have a no contact rule which I am copying below....as I thought it makes no mention of dead ball or not (written by Parks and Rec dept not softball guys) "Player must slide or submit to a tag if a play is being made on them . They must make every effort to avoid contact " It also states that "Barrelling into a fielder can be considered interference or dangerous play which can result in being called out". To me it is still somewhat nebulous...as what is "a dangerous play" ? Not sure if the runner was called out for interferece or the "dangerous play" |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() From the local rule you cited, it seems the umpire was correct. HTBT, but he was probably right as far as ASA is concerned, also.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
a little confused
Quote:
IRISH MAFIA, As it is Rec Ball there are some guys who if they slid would not be able to get back up ![]() I am confused on your point about the Umpire being right....are you saying that is should have been a live ball after the contact and the resulting runs should have scored or are you saying he should have been called out because of the contact and the ball should have been declared dead at the point of contact ? Sorry if I didn't understand you... |
|
|||
Quote:
As for what is a "dangerous play", that would be left to the judgement of the individual umpire.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Sounds like interference. If the catcher was camped in front of the plate, that's obstruction. When the runner comes barreling in, that's interference which overrules obstruction. Runner out, all others return. (I've called this before). If runner would have pulled up to avoid hitting the catcher, then you have catcher obstruction and runner is awarded home. Rules reference is Point of Emphasis #14 and #36. So if the runner is a nice guy and pulls up so as not to hit the catcher, he scores on an awarded home plate and all his teammates get to stay at their bases.
|
|
|||
Quote:
So in essence what you are saying that nice guys do get rewarded....I like the sound of that ! |
|
|||
Quote:
Rant on. From my experience, City/Community/Rec Leagues would be better served simply adhering to, universally deferring to, and re-printing in their league rules the ASA rules regarding crashing into fielders, INT, OBR, etc., rather than confounding things by inventing or continuing to grandfather in old league rules/statements to try to make the environment seem more "rec-friendly." The ASA rule set works very well on its own, IMHO. Rant off. |
|
|||
Quote:
The "must slide" rules, in fact, tend to compromise safety.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
WHY THE .... CAN'T WE PUT THE MUST SLIDE NONSENSE TO DEATH???
![]() ![]() It might be the most asked and over-discussed non-rule on earth. ![]() ![]() Yes, I know it exists in LL, but that's a very rare book here.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
contact at the plate - must slide? | Ran.D | Softball | 20 | Thu May 18, 2006 05:21pm |
Pitch hits home plate why dead? | kycat1 | Softball | 4 | Fri May 12, 2006 08:27am |
Federation rules regarding Live/Dead/"Alive?" ball | toddnkay | Basketball | 1 | Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:51pm |
loose ball slide | Redhouse | Basketball | 10 | Mon Dec 06, 2004 01:35pm |
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am |