The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 110
Here is one that caused a stir this weekend

Bottom 7th tie score -- bases loaded -- 1 out.

Batter hits line shot that lands in front of RF. Batter does not run to first. Runner at first runs home and touches plate. R1 and R2 see R3 score and do not finish running to there base.

RF throws the ball in to 1B who touches first.

Umpire calls the out at 1b and calls the game.

What do you all think? Is there any potential out to be called that could be the 3rd out and cancel the game winning run?

The losing team went ballistic because they believed R1 and R2 should be called out for not completing their advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
How can the 'runner at first' run home without R1 and R2 touching ahead of her? Did the runner at first pass them? Or did you mean 'runner at third?'

Perhaps R1 or R2 could be rung up for abandonment prior to the putout at 1B. That would be 3 outs.

But why would the losing team want their own runners called out for abandonment?

Your post is too confusing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by baldgriff
Bottom 7th tie score -- bases loaded -- 1 out.

Batter hits line shot that lands in front of RF. Batter does not run to first. Runner at first runs home and touches plate. R1 and R2 see R3 score and do not finish running to there base.

RF throws the ball in to 1B who touches first.

Umpire calls the out at 1b and calls the game.

What do you all think? Is there any potential out to be called that could be the 3rd out and cancel the game winning run?

The losing team went ballistic because they believed R1 and R2 should be called out for not completing their advance.
No, not once the BR was retired
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
There are different nomenclatures at work here, it seems. The OP must have meant that R3 is the runner at third, R2 is at 2nd, and R1 at 1st. So when R3 scored, it was the winning run.

The defense screwed up--they should have gone for two force outs, which would have prevented the run from scoring. But once they got the force on the BR, that was no longer possible.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 110
OOOPs my bad. Yes runner at 3rd cam home. Just real tired. I did 22 games this weekend all one man during a Natl Q. This play was being talked about the rest of the evening on Saturday and again on Sunday.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Well, Mike and co. figured it out as it stood, so I must be the dense one

I'm curious as to the possibility of an abandonment call here, as the losing team wanted to see. If R2 or R3 called out for abandonment before R3 touches the plate, and then b/r thrown at first, no run scores?

Just musing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
How could you possibly have R1 or R2 out for abandonment prior to R3 scoring? They didn't abandon (according to OP) until they saw the run score. And abandonment is not typically a call that is made while the ball is still being thrown around in any case.

Technically, I suppose the cases could be made that the runners eventually abandoned their bases, and called out, but since BR was put out at first, these outs would be timing plays after the run had scored, and thus irrelevant.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMan
I'm curious as to the possibility of an abandonment call here, as the losing team wanted to see. If R2 or R3 called out for abandonment before R3 touches the plate, and then b/r thrown at first, no run scores?
Speaking ASA

There is nothing in the book ruling a BR/R out for abandoning a base, effort or whatever. The BR/R would be called out for entering DBT.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runner caused fielder to change direction?? WAZebra Softball 4 Wed Mar 15, 2006 05:12pm
A weekend of first LarryS Basketball 4 Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:12pm
I know we've covered this a lot and it's caused a lot of argument but... ref18 Basketball 6 Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:02pm
Time To Stir the Pot!! BktBallRef Basketball 34 Fri Dec 19, 2003 09:18am
What a weekend! Steve M Softball 1 Mon Jul 16, 2001 10:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1