Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
..so in HS it probably would have been OBS. ...
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I saw this play... Even in ASA, this was not obstruction. ...
|
I did not see the play, so I am speaking generally here. In both ASA and NFHS, while the fielder is NOT given any right to impede the runner when about to receive a thrown ball, in both rule sets, actually impeding the runner is required for OBS - not merely blocking the base. mccrowder argues that in this play, the runner was not impeded prior to the fielder having possession of the ball. If that was the case, there would not be OBS under any rule set.