The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 28, 2006, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
TwoBits ... runner hit while touching base ... dead ball case?

Per TwoBits myths:

· The runner is always safe when hit by a batted ball while touching a base.


Is there a case where this is a dead ball?

If the there is a case where it would be a dead ball, would it be a 'no pitch' situation?
__________________
bobbrix
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 28, 2006, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbrix
Per TwoBits myths:

· The runner is always safe when hit by a batted ball while touching a base.


Is there a case where this is a dead ball?
Yes, if the runner is hit by the batted ball while in contact with the base before it passes the closest infielder.
Quote:

If the there is a case where it would be a dead ball, would it be a 'no pitch' situation?
Cannot have a "no pitch" on a ball that has been legaling put into play.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 28, 2006, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks so far, Mike.

What would the ball/strike call be, then, for the dead ball situation?

Batted ball hits R1 while she is standing on 3B and before the ball passes the closest infielder.

Do I have a foul ball?
__________________
bobbrix
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 28, 2006, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbrix
Batted ball hits R1 while she is standing on 3B and before the ball passes the closest infielder.

Do I have a foul ball?
Bobbrix,

Think about the question for a moment. The batted ball touches the runner who is standing on 3B. Where is the ball when it makes contact with a player? Is the ball over fair territory or foul territory?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 28, 2006, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbrix
Batted ball hits R1 while she is standing on 3B and before the ball passes the closest infielder.
This would be a dead ball. The batter would be awarded with a base hit and other runners would advance only if forced.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Umpire Ernie: Sorry ... the case was the batted ball struck the runner who was actually standing with both feet on the bag. It was a ground ball that was in fair territory all the way (was either going to hit the bag or bounce over it into left field). The batted ball hit her leg, and both the ball and her leg were in fair territory.

SC Ump: Thanks. I'll search through my rule book again and try to see where they explain that award.
__________________
bobbrix
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbrix
Umpire Ernie: Sorry ... the case was the batted ball struck the runner who was actually standing with both feet on the bag. It was a ground ball that was in fair territory all the way (was either going to hit the bag or bounce over it into left field). The batted ball hit her leg, and both the ball and her leg were in fair territory.
OK. The point of my question is that for fair or foul the position of the runner does not matter only the location of the ball.

Now with a runner in contact with a base you are correct we cannot have an out, unless the runner intentionally interferes with the batted ball.

If the cloest fielder other than F1 is in front of the base, so that the ball has passed a fielder before the runner is contacted, then we have a live fair ball, play on. But if the ball has not passed or touched a fielder other than F1 before it touches the runner on base, by rule the ball becomes dead, the batter-runner is awarded 1B (and a single for you scorekeepers out there), and other runners return to the base occupied at time of pitch unless forced by BRs award of 1B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appeal after dead ball, runner returns orioles35 Baseball 2 Tue Apr 11, 2006 09:21am
runner advance on dead ball crumii Softball 2 Sat Jun 11, 2005 09:31pm
Is the ball dead if Runner losses helmet? billyhouston Baseball 7 Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:53am
Little League base on balls and dead ball goldij Baseball 12 Wed Jun 23, 2004 07:54pm
NFHS vs ASA Dead Ball Base Running WestMichBlue Softball 17 Mon May 03, 2004 11:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1