The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
GaryB, did you see my answer to Hawkeye?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Thought I sent this earlier; must have hit a wrong button.

Mike has given the ASA ruling; once it is established neither side is making a play, kill the ball, and return the runner to the only base legally attained. If defense makes a play, play on; if offense leaves the base, LBR violation.

NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling.
Is that documented anywhere besides internet boards?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Is that documented anywhere besides internet boards?
Yes. 2005 NFHS Casebook Rule 8-3-3 Situation B.

I don't yet have 2006 book to compare; in Georgia, it is a fall sport.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Thanks. It is still there in 2006, also without a rule reference. Odd ruling, IMO. Defense's best option is to just do nothing. No risk of overthrow or other error.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling.
Since the legal remedy of tagging the trail runner is in the book, how does she justify calling the out? I know you said there is no rule cited but dang. I like the ASA remedy better and if a fed game was protested over it, I guess I would get a game off for blowing it. If the defense can't make outs that are outs by rule, why reward them?
Mini rant over

BTW who is Mary Struckoff
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
BTW who is Mary Struckoff
Mary Struckhoff is the assistant director for the NFHS and the rules editor for softball.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Fri May 26, 2006 at 10:54am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
... snip ...
NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling.
Is that something like the above "if pitcher attempts (not coach deciding), then "dead ball, no pitch". I would then call R2 out"?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Covington, GA
Posts: 45
Tom,

Yes, I saw the response, but do not understand how R2 would be in voilaton of LBR if R2 started to return to 1st.

Here is my thinking about the situation. With the situation as described, R2 is liable to be put out if tagged, because R2 is not legally occupying a base. Since R2 is not legally occupying a base, R2 is technically off base between 1st and 2nd when the ball is received by F1 in the circle and LBR goes into effect. Why would the LBR not be applied as if R2 is off base between 1st and 2nd in this situation?

Thanks

GaryB
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The LBR does not speak to a legally occupied base. It only talks about "a base".

So, while both runners are not entitled to remain on the same base, neither runner will be in violation of the LBR so long as they both remain there. But, if F1 has the ball in the circle, and the ball is live, and F1 is not making a play, then either runner would be out if either left the base.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Covington, GA
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
The LBR does not speak to a legally occupied base. It only talks about "a base".
Thanks Tom, I see now that last legal base touched is not to be considered when applying the LBR.

GaryB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All these experienced people but...... Seadoggs5 Baseball 8 Tue Apr 12, 2005 03:33pm
How most people view us :-p brandan89 Basketball 6 Mon Jan 03, 2005 03:08am
Leaning On People jim1976 Basketball 11 Mon Feb 03, 2003 04:37pm
Indiana People?? rockyroad Basketball 10 Sat Feb 23, 2002 11:34pm
Is it me or are people looking to get tossed? edhern Baseball 8 Tue Jul 17, 2001 01:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1