![]() |
Two people on one base
1 out
R1 on first BR hits ball to LF and ball gets by F7 R1 holds up at second but BR keeps trotting and stops at second. Ball arrives to F1 in the circle DC starts yelling about an out at 2nd because 2 girls are on the same base. The lone PU does not make a call and feels like explaining the rule to DC puts the O at an unfair disadvantage since the D ought to know how to get the out. DC instructs F1 to pitch to the next batter. OC requests time 1. Has playing action stopped on the previous play? 2. Does PU allow a batter to step in? 3. Does PU grant time to OC a) prior to F1 throwing a pitch b) after a subsequnt pitch? 4. Can OC fix the problem if time is granted since BR legally occupies 1B? 5. Once DC decides to pitch to batter does PU call time and send BR back to 1B? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
At this point, the umpire should have killed everything and returned R2 to 1st base. Remaining infomation and questions are extraneous. |
Quote:
|
No.................
|
Doesn't calling R1 out after a subsequent pitch give the D an advantage? You are awarding them an out when they hosed the play?
|
Once the defense indicates indifference to the situation (I would consider the DC instructing his pitcher to pitch - which the PU should not allow - as indifference), the PU should kill the play and return BR to 1B.
There is an ASA case play to back this up, but I don't have the case book with me at the moment. |
Quote:
|
Once it is clear that defense is not going to do anything about this, kill it.
If the OFFENSE wakes up and BR tries to head back to 1st, you have an out on LBR. If the DEFENSE wakes up and tries to play on the runner, play on. But if No One tries to fix it, we have to, and since you can't grant an out (no one has really done anything illegal), the only remedy is to send BR back to 1st. |
:confused:
Why is there an out on anyone (let alone LBR) if you've called time and BR then heads back to 1st? This is techincally no different than calling "time" with the BR one step off 1st base. |
Quote:
|
Gotcha. Thank you.
|
Quote:
Thanks GaryB |
GaryB, did you see my answer to Hawkeye?
|
Thought I sent this earlier; must have hit a wrong button.
Mike has given the ASA ruling; once it is established neither side is making a play, kill the ball, and return the runner to the only base legally attained. If defense makes a play, play on; if offense leaves the base, LBR violation. NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm. |