![]() |
|
|
|||
Two people on one base
1 out
R1 on first BR hits ball to LF and ball gets by F7 R1 holds up at second but BR keeps trotting and stops at second. Ball arrives to F1 in the circle DC starts yelling about an out at 2nd because 2 girls are on the same base. The lone PU does not make a call and feels like explaining the rule to DC puts the O at an unfair disadvantage since the D ought to know how to get the out. DC instructs F1 to pitch to the next batter. OC requests time 1. Has playing action stopped on the previous play? 2. Does PU allow a batter to step in? 3. Does PU grant time to OC a) prior to F1 throwing a pitch b) after a subsequnt pitch? 4. Can OC fix the problem if time is granted since BR legally occupies 1B? 5. Once DC decides to pitch to batter does PU call time and send BR back to 1B?
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning" ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
At this point, the umpire should have killed everything and returned R2 to 1st base. Remaining infomation and questions are extraneous.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Once it is clear that defense is not going to do anything about this, kill it.
If the OFFENSE wakes up and BR tries to head back to 1st, you have an out on LBR. If the DEFENSE wakes up and tries to play on the runner, play on. But if No One tries to fix it, we have to, and since you can't grant an out (no one has really done anything illegal), the only remedy is to send BR back to 1st.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Doesn't calling R1 out after a subsequent pitch give the D an advantage? You are awarding them an out when they hosed the play?
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning" ![]() |
|
|||
Once the defense indicates indifference to the situation (I would consider the DC instructing his pitcher to pitch - which the PU should not allow - as indifference), the PU should kill the play and return BR to 1B.
There is an ASA case play to back this up, but I don't have the case book with me at the moment.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Found that ASA Casebook play -
Quote:
R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B when B3 hits the ball to F6. R1 holds up as R2 advances to 2B. F6 throws out B3 as both R1 and R2 stand on 2B. F6 throws out B3 as both R1 and R2 stand on 2B. The defense does not notice and the ball is thrown to the pitcher. No further play is apparent. Ruling: The umpire should call "time." The runners should be awarded the base they would legally occupy. R2 is returned to 1B. (10-8H; 10-1) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
All these experienced people but...... | Seadoggs5 | Baseball | 8 | Tue Apr 12, 2005 03:33pm |
How most people view us :-p | brandan89 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 03, 2005 03:08am |
Leaning On People | jim1976 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 03, 2003 04:37pm |
Indiana People?? | rockyroad | Basketball | 10 | Sat Feb 23, 2002 11:34pm |
Is it me or are people looking to get tossed? | edhern | Baseball | 8 | Tue Jul 17, 2001 01:15am |