The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 25, 2006, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
No.................
OK, mind changed.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 25, 2006, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Once it is clear that defense is not going to do anything about this, kill it.

If the OFFENSE wakes up and BR tries to head back to 1st, you have an out on LBR. If the DEFENSE wakes up and tries to play on the runner, play on.

But if No One tries to fix it, we have to, and since you can't grant an out (no one has really done anything illegal), the only remedy is to send BR back to 1st.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 25, 2006, 04:41pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162


Why is there an out on anyone (let alone LBR) if you've called time and BR then heads back to 1st? This is techincally no different than calling "time" with the BR one step off 1st base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 25, 2006, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP


Why is there an out on anyone (let alone LBR) if you've called time and BR then heads back to 1st? This is techincally no different than calling "time" with the BR one step off 1st base.
Obviously there wouldn't be once TIME has been called. mcrowder was talking about if the offense sends the runner back while the ball is still live and F1 has the ball in the circle, not making a play. My guess is the OC wanted TIME to prevent the runner from making this dumb move on her own.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 25, 2006, 05:13pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Gotcha. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Covington, GA
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
If the OFFENSE wakes up and BR tries to head back to 1st, you have an out on LBR.
Please explain how you came to this conclusion and how you would backup this call.

Thanks

GaryB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
GaryB, did you see my answer to Hawkeye?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Thought I sent this earlier; must have hit a wrong button.

Mike has given the ASA ruling; once it is established neither side is making a play, kill the ball, and return the runner to the only base legally attained. If defense makes a play, play on; if offense leaves the base, LBR violation.

NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling.
Is that documented anywhere besides internet boards?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Is that documented anywhere besides internet boards?
Yes. 2005 NFHS Casebook Rule 8-3-3 Situation B.

I don't yet have 2006 book to compare; in Georgia, it is a fall sport.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling.
Since the legal remedy of tagging the trail runner is in the book, how does she justify calling the out? I know you said there is no rule cited but dang. I like the ASA remedy better and if a fed game was protested over it, I guess I would get a game off for blowing it. If the defense can't make outs that are outs by rule, why reward them?
Mini rant over

BTW who is Mary Struckoff
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
BTW who is Mary Struckoff
Mary Struckhoff is the assistant director for the NFHS and the rules editor for softball.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Fri May 26, 2006 at 10:54am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
... snip ...
NFHS has given a different ruling; call the trail runner out, per Mary Struckhoff. No direct rule reference, as no rule actually applies. Her comment was that the runner has no legal right to the base; however, she neglects the rule requirement of the appropriate remedy, that the defense tag the runner who doesn't have the legal right to the base. Nonetheless, that is the NFHS official ruling.
Is that something like the above "if pitcher attempts (not coach deciding), then "dead ball, no pitch". I would then call R2 out"?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Covington, GA
Posts: 45
Tom,

Yes, I saw the response, but do not understand how R2 would be in voilaton of LBR if R2 started to return to 1st.

Here is my thinking about the situation. With the situation as described, R2 is liable to be put out if tagged, because R2 is not legally occupying a base. Since R2 is not legally occupying a base, R2 is technically off base between 1st and 2nd when the ball is received by F1 in the circle and LBR goes into effect. Why would the LBR not be applied as if R2 is off base between 1st and 2nd in this situation?

Thanks

GaryB
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The LBR does not speak to a legally occupied base. It only talks about "a base".

So, while both runners are not entitled to remain on the same base, neither runner will be in violation of the LBR so long as they both remain there. But, if F1 has the ball in the circle, and the ball is live, and F1 is not making a play, then either runner would be out if either left the base.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All these experienced people but...... Seadoggs5 Baseball 8 Tue Apr 12, 2005 03:33pm
How most people view us :-p brandan89 Basketball 6 Mon Jan 03, 2005 03:08am
Leaning On People jim1976 Basketball 11 Mon Feb 03, 2003 04:37pm
Indiana People?? rockyroad Basketball 10 Sat Feb 23, 2002 11:34pm
Is it me or are people looking to get tossed? edhern Baseball 8 Tue Jul 17, 2001 01:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1