![]() |
|
|||
No
Quote:
Rule 8.5 is entitled "Runners are entitled to advance without liability to be put out". Rule 8.5.B says... "When a fielder not in possession of the ball or not in the act of fielding a batted ball, obstructs the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running bases..... Rule 8.5.B.4 says..."When a runner, while advancing or returning to a base.... a. Is obstructed by a fielder who neither has the ball or b. Is attempting to field a batted or thrown ball, or c. When a fielder who fakes a tag without the ball Effect: The obstructed runner and all other runner shall always be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpires judgment, had there been no obstruction. What is confusing is that 8.5.B says nothing about fielding a thrown ball but 8.5.B.4 does. The wording is not consistent. If you take 8.5.B.4.B at face value, then a fielder who is attempting to field a thrown ball can not be called for obstructing the runner. This is why I have such a difficult time interpreting some of the rules. The rulebook is inconsistent in places. It's hard to judge the intent of the rules committee! I only have the rulebook and the casebook. If there are two rules in conflict or multiple places where the same rule is worded differently, what do you go by? I need to search the casebook to see if there is a case play that clarifies the situation.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Was he guessing on a time out by UNM? | davidw | Basketball | 21 | Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:07pm |
Guessing Game? | whiskers_ump | Softball | 16 | Sun May 04, 2003 09:27pm |