The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder

Why do you feel a runner can "unscore" once they've crossed the plate (assuming they have no further true need to be back on the basepaths, such as a missed base or one left too early), and also - why do you feel a 10U runner who was told by her coach to return to third after crossing the plate would be in jeopardy of being tagged, when the same runner when told by an umpire to return would not be? Seems that the person (coach vs umpir) directing her to properly return (as she must) is a rather flimsy reason to differentiate her liability status by.

I'm sorry you cannot see the relation between the interp on a runner placing themself in jeopardy by returning past first and a runner returning to 3B. I see it as quite clear.

As I said, I do not agree with it, but it's not up to me to accept or ignore rulings.

Let me ask you this. If the runner did turn and head back to 3B after scoring during a live ball and drew a throw while there are other active runners, would you rule interference in accordance with 8.7.P and call the runner closest to home, out?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
I would not just as I would not if B/R runs to 1B on a dropped 3rd strike with less than 2 outs and 1B occupied and draws a throw. Our local association takes the position she is no longer in jeopardy once she has crossed home plate in 10U. Perhaps I should start a new thread, BR runs to 1B in sit. above and is inside the baseline halfway up the line and C is tring to pick girl off at 1B and hits her in the back - who is out?
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
I would not just as I would not if B/R runs to 1B on a dropped 3rd strike with less than 2 outs and 1B occupied and draws a throw. Our local association takes the position she is no longer in jeopardy once she has crossed home plate in 10U. Perhaps I should start a new thread, BR runs to 1B in sit. above and is inside the baseline halfway up the line and C is tring to pick girl off at 1B and hits her in the back - who is out?
The rule I cited explicitly exempts the retired runner on a U3K, but also states that a runner who has scored cannot continue to run and draw a throw.

You cannot have it both ways.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
I would not just as I would not if B/R runs to 1B on a dropped 3rd strike with less than 2 outs and 1B occupied and draws a throw. Our local association takes the position she is no longer in jeopardy once she has crossed home plate in 10U. Perhaps I should start a new thread, BR runs to 1B in sit. above and is inside the baseline halfway up the line and C is tring to pick girl off at 1B and hits her in the back - who is out?
Why start a new thread? There are only three issues in this one.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
I would not just as I would not if B/R runs to 1B on a dropped 3rd strike with less than 2 outs and 1B occupied and draws a throw. Our local association takes the position she is no longer in jeopardy once she has crossed home plate in 10U. Perhaps I should start a new thread, BR runs to 1B in sit. above and is inside the baseline halfway up the line and C is tring to pick girl off at 1B and hits her in the back - who is out?
Different sitch - runner in question is a runner who has scored - which is who this particular rule is talking about. Retired runner and Scored runner are two different things.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Let me ask you this. If the runner did turn and head back to 3B after scoring during a live ball and drew a throw while there are other active runners, would you rule interference in accordance with 8.7.P and call the runner closest to home, out?
Yes, of course I would. I believe this (and other related situations) is exactly what 8.7.p is for. Am I wrong there too?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Let me ask you this. If the runner did turn and head back to 3B after scoring during a live ball and drew a throw while there are other active runners, would you rule interference in accordance with 8.7.P and call the runner closest to home, out?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Yes, of course I would. I believe this (and other related situations) is exactly what 8.7.p is for. Am I wrong there too?
So, 10U baserunning rules say that the runner is not eligible to score, but she runs home anyway on a wild pitch that is ball four. Coach screams at her to return to 3B. She does, but in her attempt to return, she draws a throw, but makes it safely back to 3B. Meanwhile, as this is going on, BR advances to 2B.

You're going to call R1 out for interference?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Yes. (stupid 10 character limit....)
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
In this case, I wouldn't. There is nothing gained by the offense. She cannot advance to 2B on a walk. I would just put the runners back after play has stopped. The defense can still attempt to get the runner out if she tries to return to 1B.
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
...There is nothing gained by the offense...
Theoretically, the return to 3rd drew a throw that could have been used to retire the runner off base between 1st and 2nd.

OTOH, if R1 is in jeopardy, the whole interference issue is avoided.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Yes. (stupid 10 character limit....)
Prepare to eject a coach.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
My point here is that if you insist the runner has scored and cannot "unscore", then how can you not call the runner out for drawing a throw when the rules specifically prohibit it?

You cannot have it both ways, either the runner scored or is still active.

Also, the rules permit for a runner to return to 3B after scoring if s/he believes THEY missed the base or left the base too soon regardless of age level. The rules even specify that this runner must retouch the plate prior to doing so or be subject to an appeal for missing the plate while returning.

I'm sure you believe this isn't the same situation, but I believe it is. Just because the runner is considered to have scored the moment s/he crosses the plate, touched or not, does not mean s/he cannot place themselves back into jeopardy basically because the rules do not differentiate home plate from all the other bases.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
You cannot have it both ways, either the runner scored or is still active.
I don't think either mcrowder or I am trying to have it both ways. I consider the runner still active (hence, no interference). He considers her as having scored (hence, interference).

My reasoning is the runner is not eligible to score, so she has not scored.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota

My reasoning is the runner is not eligible to score, so she has not scored.
So, if the runner cannot score, by rule, and not in contact with a base, that runner is still in jeopardy whether she crossed the plate or not.

Is that what you are saying?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
So, if the runner cannot score, by rule, and not in contact with a base, that runner is still in jeopardy whether she crossed the plate or not.

Is that what you are saying?
No, because neither is she "between bases." She is not in jeopardy unless she attempts to return to 3rd. Bizzare, I know. But it is how I read the 10U rules mapped into the general baserunning rules. My rationale is that runners do not stay in contact with the plate.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1