The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
That is only out on appeal. In my scenario, an appeal is not available.
I said "on appeal" before. Why is an appeal not available in your scenario? I must be missing something.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Irish is being intentionally cryptic, and we are obviously not following. What are you really trying to say, Mike, and how does apply to this situation? At this moment, it seems like a) a non-sequitur, and b) an incorrect assessment in and of itself. I'm sure I'm missing something.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
My point is that there is nothing in ASA's rule book that states the runner must touch first, second third and home base IN THAT ORDER.

5.5.A only says a run will be scored each time a player touches all of those bases.

However, we all KNOW the right order and rule on appeals when a runner fails to touch the bases in that order.

So, if a batter puts the ball into play and circles the bases in what we know as the reverse order, are we going to automatically rule the player out?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
My point is that there is nothing in ASA's rule book that states the runner must touch first, second third and home base IN THAT ORDER.

5.5.A only says a run will be scored each time a player touches all of those bases.

However, we all KNOW the right order and rule on appeals when a runner fails to touch the bases in that order.

So, if a batter puts the ball into play and circles the bases in what we know as the reverse order, are we going to automatically rule the player out?
I always thought they were called 1st, 2nd, 3rd for a reason; but thanks for pointing out an NFHS rules superiority.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
My point is that there is nothing in ASA's rule book that states the runner must touch first, second third and home base IN THAT ORDER.
True, technically and literally. But the rule I referenced does say the runner is in jeopardy of being ruled on on proper appeal if the runner "fails to touch the intervening base or bases in regular or reverse order". You are correct that it does not define "intervening", "regular order" or "reverse order", but, as you say, we all know what that means.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
8.3.d

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
My point is that there is nothing in ASA's rule book that states the runner must touch first, second third and home base IN THAT ORDER.

5.5.A only says a run will be scored each time a player touches all of those bases.

However, we all KNOW the right order and rule on appeals when a runner fails to touch the bases in that order.

So, if a batter puts the ball into play and circles the bases in what we know as the reverse order, are we going to automatically rule the player out?
Actually there is a rule that says a runner is out if they run the bases in reverse order. Its rule 8.3.D and it says....

A runner shall not run bases in reverse order either to confuse the fielders or to make a travesty of the game.

Effect: The ball is dead and the runner is out.

No appeal required. Of course this does not apply to the OP, since the rule clearly states that the purpose behind the running the bases in reverse order must be to confuse or to make a travesty of the game. The runner in this case was doing neither.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
Actually there is a rule that says a runner is out if they run the bases in reverse order. Its rule 8.3.D and it says....

A runner shall not run bases in reverse order either to confuse the fielders or to make a travesty of the game.

Effect: The ball is dead and the runner is out.

No appeal required. Of course this does not apply to the OP, since the rule clearly states that the purpose behind the running the bases in reverse order must be to confuse or to make a travesty of the game. The runner in this case was doing neither.
You are obviously missing or not reading the posts. NO WHERE in the ASA book specify the order in which a runner must touch the bases. Therefore, how can you state that a runner is running the bases in reverse order if there is no defined order to begin?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
With all due respect, Mike, none of this even remotely deals with the status of a 10U runner who has crossed the plate, and then is asked to return to 3rd by her coach instead of the umpire. Not sure why this tangent was even followed at all, and I assumed you were going somewhere with it, since you're not traditionally a thread hijacker.

So...

Why do you feel a runner can "unscore" once they've crossed the plate (assuming they have no further true need to be back on the basepaths, such as a missed base or one left too early), and also - why do you feel a 10U runner who was told by her coach to return to third after crossing the plate would be in jeopardy of being tagged, when the same runner when told by an umpire to return would not be? Seems that the person (coach vs umpir) directing her to properly return (as she must) is a rather flimsy reason to differentiate her liability status by.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder

Why do you feel a runner can "unscore" once they've crossed the plate (assuming they have no further true need to be back on the basepaths, such as a missed base or one left too early), and also - why do you feel a 10U runner who was told by her coach to return to third after crossing the plate would be in jeopardy of being tagged, when the same runner when told by an umpire to return would not be? Seems that the person (coach vs umpir) directing her to properly return (as she must) is a rather flimsy reason to differentiate her liability status by.

I'm sorry you cannot see the relation between the interp on a runner placing themself in jeopardy by returning past first and a runner returning to 3B. I see it as quite clear.

As I said, I do not agree with it, but it's not up to me to accept or ignore rulings.

Let me ask you this. If the runner did turn and head back to 3B after scoring during a live ball and drew a throw while there are other active runners, would you rule interference in accordance with 8.7.P and call the runner closest to home, out?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1