![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
This coach has not appealed anything to you. You will review the lineup, and may discover BOO, unreported sub, or an inaccurate lineup card. Would you acknowledge the coach with, "That is correct coach" and await a specific appeal, or would you determine the violation and assess the appropriate penalty? If the latter, wouldn't that be considered "filling in" (as you put it) the appeal to cover all appealable violations? I agree with Mike in the sense that this coach has recognized something is wrong with the order in which players have/are batting and, just because s/he did not ask the specific question regarding the exact player, they have made the determination that something is wrong, and I would correct it, at that time.
__________________
Wade Ireland Softball Umpire |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Batting order is #19 #21 #17 #22 #17 has just batted instead of #19. #21 has come up to bat and has taken one pitch. Coach does exactly what you said. Coach has recognized that #17 batted in the wrong spot. Coach has not recognized that #17 is now legal and so #21 is also batting in the wrong spot. You explain that since a pitch has been thrown, #17's at bat is legal. Does coach then understand that #22 should now be due up and not #21? Am I supposed to explain that to him? Am I supposed to just correct it without an appeal? Do we allow a generic "the batting order is screwed up - please fix it, Blue" as an appeal? I guess so, but I never knew that.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I truly felt (and still feel) that reminding him that #1 was supposed to be up instead of #6 was outside the realm of what he was complaining about. In fact, after explaining what I said above, I FULLY expected that he would come back out after #6 batted to get an out on #1 for not batting - but he didn't. Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Two runners pass third on the way to the plate. One runner misses the touch, the other doesn't. On the defensive appeal, don't we make them tell us which runner missed?
7-2-D starts by stating "IF BATTING OUT OF ORDER IS DISCOVERED", but doesn't say discovered by whom. We would also tell a scorekeeper that BOO must be reported and appealed by the coach were they to point it out, so who must do the discovery? I can see this arguement both ways, but tend to lean towards I'm keeping quiet. That is also what my wife said I would have done anyway. She'a probably right. |
|
|||
|
How about this. Coach brings up batting out of order, 9 batted instead of 6. I would bring out my lineup card and with my pencil as a pointer I would say "Ok we had 10 on first, 9 came to bat and hit the homer, we threw a pitch to 6 which makes 9's at bat legal, so we should be here in the lineup (pointing to #1 in the lineup). That is all I would do, is that helping the defense, maybe...but that is how I would do it to me that is just thinking through the situation that the coach has brought to my attention. I would not but 1 in the box, without more from the coach....as someone said that would be taking a chance for an out away from the defense. Now that is the point where the coach has to know what to do next, let 6 complete their turn at bat and then appeal to get 1 out for BOO, hopefully 6 will K or ground out and we get 2 outs!!
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| I think we screwed this up... | w_sohl | Football | 17 | Fri Sep 16, 2005 05:06am |
| I Screwed Up..... | tmp44 | Baseball | 3 | Tue Apr 12, 2005 07:10pm |
| Probably screwed this up.....arrow loss??????? | Jeremy Hohn | Basketball | 16 | Sun Dec 08, 2002 03:31pm |
| Screwed up situation | Ex Blue | Baseball | 15 | Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:23pm |