The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 06:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Throwing to Unoccupied Base

Fed Ball - Situation:

R1 on third, R2 on first. R2 takes off on the pitch, in an apparent attempt to draw a throw to second so that R1 can score. The catcher throws back to the first baseman instead.

I know that a pitcher cannot throw to an unoccupied base, but the coach wanted me to call this illegal too? I didn't think so. Do you?
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 07:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Myers FL
Posts: 600
Attempt to pick off a runner who is at 1st ??
What's the problem ??
__________________
Keep everything in front of you
and have fun out there !!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 07:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
First - even in baseball the pitcher can throw to the base where the runner WAS, and the catcher can throw to ANY base.

Second - in softball there are no such rules (the pitcher can't throw ANYwhere) at all. The catcher (in both sports) is simply an infielder trying to make a play. She could throw to F7 if she wanted to.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
Fed Ball - Situation:

R1 on third, R2 on first. R2 takes off on the pitch, in an apparent attempt to draw a throw to second so that R1 can score. The catcher throws back to the first baseman instead.

I know that a pitcher cannot throw to an unoccupied base, but the coach wanted me to call this illegal too? I didn't think so. Do you?
Talk about begging!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitcher throwing to a base bossman72 Baseball 1 Tue Jun 07, 2005 02:23pm
Throwing the Bat Stair-Climber Softball 8 Tue May 31, 2005 11:05am
throwing the bat Mike Farley Baseball 5 Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:28pm
Throwing off the ref? Oz Referee Basketball 3 Sun May 27, 2001 12:29pm
NOT Throwing a "T" rainmaker Basketball 2 Fri Feb 16, 2001 01:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1