The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Cute situation from another board

I've adjusted (added detail) a bit, but I thought this was at least worth discussing from a mechanics perspective.

2 umpire crew.

R1 on 2B. R2 on 1B. B3 hits a high, long fly beyond 1B in foul territory near the fence. F9 running over to try to make the catch. R1 takes a few steps off 2B and waits. R2 runs full speed and passes R1. Batted ball drops for a foul.

OK... describe what BU does about R2 passing R1 during the live ball (before the ball becomes foul). If R2 is called out, what happens next after the ball is foul?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Did BU go out or not?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Did BU go out or not?
I would doubt it (at least I wouldn't have) since the ball is near the 1st base line and BU should be in "C".

R2 is called out during the live ball, since we don't know if ball will be fair/foul. If foul, change the call. No different in my mind than 'infield fly if fair'. If fair, batter is out, if foul, nothing but a foul ball.

If, in OP, ball is fair, runner is still out. If foul, just a foul.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"

Last edited by MNBlue; Fri Apr 28, 2006 at 01:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Did BU go out or not?
No (sorry, left that detail out).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
"The runner is out when the runner physically passes a preceding runner before that runner has been put out." NFHS 8-6-4; ASA (2005) 8-7-D.

Why would the out be voided because the ball later became dead as a result of becoming an uncaught foul?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L
"The runner is out when the runner physically passes a preceding runner before that runner has been put out." NFHS 8-6-4; ASA (2005) 8-7-D.

Why would the out be voided because the ball later became dead as a result of becoming an uncaught foul?
The penalty for NFHS 8-6-4 states "The ball is in play and the runner is out." Since the ball is foul, it was never technically in play, therefore you can't call the runner out.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Nonsense. He's out if he passes when the ball is live. Period. Whether it becomes foul or not after that does not undo the out. He's out.

Not a fun one to sell, for sure ... but this is the right call.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
Since the ball is foul, it was never technically in play, therefore you can't call the runner out.
Could it have been caught for an out? Yes. Could runners advance? Yes. Could runners score? Yes. Could the runners have been put out? Yes.

Sounds like the ball was in play to me.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
From another board Tbone Football 4 Fri Aug 01, 2003 03:56pm
Some cute spring league comments Mark Padgett Basketball 0 Sat May 11, 2002 08:11pm
Just Cute or BS! BKS Basketball 3 Tue Feb 19, 2002 01:41pm
One more "Cute Kid" saying rainmaker Basketball 1 Mon Feb 18, 2002 03:26pm
Cute player comment Mark Padgett Basketball 3 Tue Jan 08, 2002 03:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1