![]() |
|
|
|||
I see your point. However, I believe it was the 2002 or 2003 test that I missed exactly one question on - and it was because I assumed that throwing the BR out at first WAS a force out, and within the framework of the question, it wasn't.
When you spend so many years taking tests that are designed to trick you by wordsmithing (not just ASA, but Fed, NCAA, football, softball, baseball, you name it), you pick up on such an anomaly and your brain immediately knows it when it sees it.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Are there ary situations where the distinction matters? (aside from correct answers to test question)...
I know of one where it might matter, but even then, I don't think it actually does.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
On a play from fair territory, the BR must use the colored portion of 1B if there is a play at 1B, the runner is not required to do so. A BR may run through the bag to which they are advancing becoming a runner, a runner may not without placing themselves into jeopardy. A BR can be ruled out for creating interference with a ball thrown to 1B without it being intentional, a runner must intentionally interfere with a thrown ball for INT to be ruled. Just a couple off the top of my head.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
If the out at 1B was a force, it would save a few words in the rule about when a run scores on the third (or fourth) out. The only difference I can think of in your more specific question is that the batter-runner at first is not put back in jeopardy (like a force) if s/he returns past the base (at first, that would usually be thinking the ball was called foul, for example).
I, for one, would be perfectly happy if the definistion of a force play included the BR at 1B, and it was all more consistent. But, it isn't, as discussed on the NFHS board.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
Are there ary situations where the distinction matters? Maybe the question should have been "is there any situation when the result of retiring the BR prior to reaching 1B is different than a runner forced to a base." The answer to that, I believe, is no.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Steve's situation was the only one I could think of, and even that one does not make any difference since the BR has no base to return to, so even if the play on the BR at 1B was defined as a force, the reinstatement of the force rule would not apply.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
In some rule book in the future they will clarify 1B to be a force like they clarified BoB to not be "without liability to be put out".
Nuance of words that means little except nit picking amongst ourselves and umpires - every 7 y/o T ball player knows that BR to 1B is a force out (ie touch base or tag); I certainly would never try to explain to a coach that the play at 1B wasnt a force because of lame rule wording that doesnt include that play.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
"Force" redux | greymule | Baseball | 33 | Fri Aug 20, 2004 06:54pm |
Force Play? | Lapopez | Baseball | 78 | Mon Jul 26, 2004 11:15am |
Force out at 1B | greymule | Softball | 8 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 01:36pm |
Force Out | rickbeauv | Softball | 22 | Tue Jun 24, 2003 04:04pm |
Force at 2nd | brumey1107 | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 03:00pm |