The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
The NFHS rule says
"a runner is entitled to advance without liability to be put out when:
b. A fielder not in possession of the ball, not in the act of fielding a bated ball, or not about to receive a thrown ball impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is leagally running the bases." 8-4-3b

I think it depends on how close the fielder is to receiving the ball. If the ball is still in the hands of the catcher OBS clearly

If the ball is reaching F4's glove in any close proximity to the actuial play no OBS since the she is about to receive a thrown ball. It appears that by NFHS rule she is entitled to block the base.

I would have to say it is a judgment call depending on how close the fielder is to catching the ball.

My question then becomes: What if the fielder about to receive the thrown ball blocks the base but then misses the catch preventing R1 from either advancing further or F4 can pick up the loose ball and apply the tag. Bang bang before R1 can react to the missed catch.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
The NFHS rule says
"a runner is entitled to advance without liability to be put out when:
b. A fielder not in possession of the ball, not in the act of fielding a bated ball, or not about to receive a thrown ball impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is leagally running the bases." 8-4-3b

I think it depends on how close the fielder is to receiving the ball. If the ball is still in the hands of the catcher OBS clearly

If the ball is reaching F4's glove in any close proximity to the actuial play no OBS since the she is about to receive a thrown ball. It appears that by NFHS rule she is entitled to block the base.

I would have to say it is a judgment call depending on how close the fielder is to catching the ball.

My question then becomes: What if the fielder about to receive the thrown ball blocks the base but then misses the catch preventing R1 from either advancing further or F4 can pick up the loose ball and apply the tag. Bang bang before R1 can react to the missed catch.
Get a new book, TCBlue; that hasn't been the rule for two years. The rule now states "b. A fielder not in possession of the ball or not in the act of fielding a batted ball impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running the bases." 8-4-3b "About to receive" is not part of the rule, and is obstruction. No judgment about how close; obstruction. Your play; obstruction. No possession, not fielding a batted ball.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Sorry Steve,
I have the new rules book
I just quoted the 2006 rules book.
It is in there on page 64.

"Put on your glasses , Blue"
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
This was an error in the 2006 Book. See http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...Footer=SB_FOOT
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 28, 2006, 12:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley
This was an error in the 2006 Book. See http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...Footer=SB_FOOT

Thanks Smiley

Sorry Steve
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
are they kidding? ajjl22 Baseball 13 Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:50pm
I honestly wanted to ask if he was kidding LarryS Basketball 7 Fri Dec 31, 2004 01:33am
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm
What do you do here? (GPS #8, just kidding :eek:) JRutledge Basketball 17 Tue Jan 08, 2002 03:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1