![]() |
|
|
|||
Easy Question
B1 is obstructed at 1B, misses 1B, is safe at 2B. Time is called, defense appeals that she missed 1B. Is there any way for the OBS to occur where she is not out in the situation where she continues to 2B?
|
|
|||
Generic easy answer is that BR is out.
Your second question is more complicated, and will generate debate. Is there ANY case where an umpire would not call her out. Probably - but it would have to be blatant, intentional obs that I don't think I've ever seen. Hypothetically, if F3 set up in front of first base, waited for BR and pushed her toward 2nd, perhaps even preventing BR from trying to touch 1st a 2nd time, I can see an umpire extending his authority to disallow an out at 1st base. (And I can see one going strictly by the book and calling her out anyway - I suspect this one would be 50/50) But generally, BR must still touch bases in the proper order, even if OBS'd - this is one of the exceptions to the "cannot be put out between the bases where she's obstructed" part of the rule.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Easy with the T's???? | PIAA REF | Basketball | 53 | Tue Jul 04, 2006 06:17pm |
First timer....and an easy question to start with | WeekendRef | Basketball | 9 | Wed Jan 14, 2004 01:06pm |
Easy question for you guys... | devdog69 | Softball | 14 | Fri Jul 18, 2003 04:25pm |
Three Easy Ones | egausch | Basketball | 6 | Tue Mar 12, 2002 05:11pm |
Another Easy Play [probably too easy for this board] | whiskers_ump | Softball | 14 | Sat Mar 09, 2002 04:59pm |