The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 16
I thought that once the B-R makes a move toward 2nd, while the ball is in control of F1 in the circle, that the B-R must proceed to 2nd. I had a player called out in this situation because she retreated to 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg43
I thought that once the B-R makes a move toward 2nd, while the ball is in control of F1 in the circle, that the B-R must proceed to 2nd. I had a player called out in this situation because she retreated to 1st.

As noted, there was a played made by the pitcher. There is no LBR if the pitcher makes a play.

Also, ALL runners get one stop/reversal.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg43
I thought that once the B-R makes a move toward 2nd, while the ball is in control of F1 in the circle, that the B-R must proceed to 2nd. I had a player called out in this situation because she retreated to 1st.
In the instance where you had a player called out, did the pitcher, who had control of the ball in the circle, make a play(a fake throw is considered a play) on your runner, or did she just stand there?

The information that you have been given thus far is correct. ANY play made by the pitcher releases the runners so far as the LBR is concerned.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 16
This happened a couple of years ago but I will never forget it. The pitcher just stood there. This situation was slightly different because our B-R, who was walked, took one step into the field and immediately returned to 1st. No "hard move" was made to 2nd. She was called out as soon as she returned to 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg43
This happened a couple of years ago but I will never forget it. The pitcher just stood there. This situation was slightly different because our B-R, who was walked, took one step into the field and immediately returned to 1st. No "hard move" was made to 2nd. She was called out as soon as she returned to 1st.
As you write it, sounds as though this may have been a blown call. Did you query the umpire as to why he called it?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 16
I should clarify that the last situation described where the B-R was called out for returning to 1st happened during a tournament game (I think we were using PONY rules). I asked the umpire why she was out and his response was that once she made a turn into the field, she was committed to proceed to 2nd. Ever since then, I have insisted that my players always come to a complete stop on the base after a walk without even the slightest hint of looking into the field.

I'll check the PONY book to see if I can find the rule. I just presumed that this "rule" applied across the board of officiating organizations.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg43
I should clarify that the last situation described where the B-R was called out for returning to 1st happened during a tournament game (I think we were using PONY rules). I asked the umpire why she was out and his response was that once she made a turn into the field, she was committed to proceed to 2nd. Ever since then, I have insisted that my players always come to a complete stop on the base after a walk without even the slightest hint of looking into the field.

I'll check the PONY book to see if I can find the rule. I just presumed that this "rule" applied across the board of officiating organizations.
Pony rules have a pretty generic LBR.

t. Look Back Rule (FP) – The “Look Back” rule will be in effect when the ball is live, the batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out, and the pitcher has possession and control of the ball in the eight foot (2.44m) radius of the pitcher’s plate. The pitcher is considered to be in the eight foot (2.44m) radius of the pitcher’s plate when both feet are on or within the lines. When the baserunner fails to keep contact with the base to which she is entitled until the ball leaves the pitcher’s hand, the baserunner will be declared out. When a baserunner is legimately off her base after a pitch or the result of a batter completing her turn at bat while the pitcher has the ball with an eight foot (2.44m) radius on the pitcher’s plate, the runner may stop once, but then she must immediately attempt to advance to the next base or immediately return to her base.
(1) Failure to immediately proceed to the next base or return to her base once the pitcher has the ball within the eight foot (2.44m) radius of the pitcher’s plate will result in the baserunner being declared out.
(2) Once the runner returns to a base for any reason, she will be declared out if she leaves said base, unless a play is made on her or another runner (a fake throw is considered a play); the pitcher no longer has possession of the ball in the eight foot (2.44m) radius; or the pitcher releases the ball by a pitch to the batter.
NOTE: A base on balls or dropped third strike, on which the runner is entitled to run, is treated the same as a batted ball. The batter-baserunner may continue past first base and is entitled to run toward second base as long as she does not stop at first base. If she stops after she rounds first, she then must comply with Section 9t(1).
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg43
I asked the umpire why she was out and his response was that once she made a turn into the field, she was committed to proceed to 2nd. Ever since then, I have insisted that my players always come to a complete stop on the base after a walk without even the slightest hint of looking into the field.
I may be off base here, but it sounds like the umpire may have confused this with a player returning to 1B after running through the bag as the batter-runner.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Live Free or Die Country
Posts: 175
Send a message via Yahoo to CelticNHBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I may be off base here
And as such, you too are now out!!!
__________________
Wade Ireland
Softball Umpire
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I may be off base here, but it sounds like the umpire may have confused this with a player returning to 1B after running through the bag as the batter-runner.
And we thought Mike didn't speak NFHS.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg43
This happened a couple of years ago but I will never forget it. The pitcher just stood there. This situation was slightly different because our B-R, who was walked, took one step into the field and immediately returned to 1st. No "hard move" was made to 2nd. She was called out as soon as she returned to 1st.
Wow, were you playing in North Manchester, Indiana? I had this exact same call made last year in one of our games. I had a slow runner on third, slow runner drawing a walk and going to first base. Top of the order coming up, so I'm just happy we got our batter on base. Out of nowhere, she's hustling to first base, rounds first, takes two steps towards second, stops and immediately goes back to first base. BU immediately calls her out and says once she rounded first she was required to advance to second. What could I say? I just shook my head and the first opportunity I had I explained to my player that she did nothing wrong.

This was the same umpire who in a different game made a no-call when my shortstop got bowled over by a runner as she was fielding a ground and followed that up in the next inning by calling interference on my fastest runner who on a straight steal had run three steps past the second baseman before the ball went behind her only to be bobbled by said second baseman. He had on an ASA shirt and an ASA cap, but since he was wearing blue jeans with his shirt untucked and only ever took his hands out of his pockets to make safe or out calls, I don't doubt he just ordered his attire online somewhere.

I guess that's why Wayne Myers, our state commissioner, demands that we not order equipment from anywhere other than through him.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob
I guess that's why Wayne Myers, our state commissioner, demands that we not order equipment from anywhere other than through him.
I'm thinking there's another reason.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob

I guess that's why Wayne Myers, our state commissioner, demands that we not order equipment from anywhere other than through him.
That's probably not the reason.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Okay, since I've been corrected twice now, I officially stand corrected. I wish I had left that last part out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apply NFHS to WSH-Tampa Playoff FredFan7 Football 8 Mon Jan 09, 2006 01:18pm
Does pass interferance really apply? kbarnett Football 9 Fri Oct 29, 2004 05:18pm
Does PSK apply? GPC2 Football 2 Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:14am
I know the NFL rules don't apply to us, but... OverAndBack Football 7 Thu Aug 19, 2004 04:03am
Does forceouts apply to the goal line? Zeke5 Football 3 Tue Jul 03, 2001 10:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1