![]() |
|
|||
[QUOTE]Originally posted by BretMan
Quote:
Let's try it this way. First batter reached first safely, so you now have R1 with no outs. The next action is B3 going to 1st base. Was there an out or new runner between the two events? No. That means that the second player due to bat in the inning was B2. Is B2 mentioned in any action yet in this inning? No. Since the defense addressed B3's existance prior to a pitch to B4, the odd-player-out cannot be dismissed, therefor, B2 is out for failing to bat. Since this was before a pitch to B4, the previous advancement on the play which ended the batter's "at bat" is nullified. That means B3 is removed from 1B. The next batter is that which follows the batter ruled out for failing to bat. That brings B3 to the plate with a 0-0 count. ASA Rule 7.2.C.2
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
Bookmarks |
|
|