The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2006, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by BretMan
Mike,

Please clear up a question about your ruling.

Here's the point that I'm tripping over. When B3 first comes into the batters box, what is her count? Is it 3-2? Or, is it 0-0.

For your ruling to work, we must start B3 off with a 3-2 count. Under what rule or interpretation does B3 assume the count of B2?
First off, try not to overthink the play.

Remember, B3 steps into the box without the umpire's knowledge. Setting aside the umpire's lack of diligence for the sake of the scenario, the umpire still has 3-2 on the batter that is supposed to be in the box.

As an umpire, with a 3-2 count, you call a ball, step out from behind the plate, remove your mask and observe the play at 2B. When the play is over, you move back to your position in the slot, set your mask, check your indicator and the count is 3-2.

B3 assumes nothing as they are not supposed to be there. That is why it is BOO.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1