The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2006, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
NFHS (but I think all are the same.):

In the top of the third, S1 bats for B1 and S2 bats for B2. In the bottom of the third, B1 and B2 re-enter.

In the bottom of the fifth, S2 enters to play defense for B1. The opposing coach notifies the PU of the illegal substitution (a) after S2 has taken position on the field or (b) after S2 has made a play on the ball. In (a) and (b) S2 is restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game.

In either case can B1 take her defensive position or is she considered to have left the game for her second time?

I think by rule, even in (a) that the coach would need another unused sub to fill that spot... but I just never remember it being discussed.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2006, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally posted by SC Ump
NFHS (but I think all are the same.):

In the top of the third, S1 bats for B1 and S2 bats for B2. In the bottom of the third, B1 and B2 re-enter.

In the bottom of the fifth, S2 enters to play defense for B1. The opposing coach notifies the PU of the illegal substitution (a) after S2 has taken position on the field or (b) after S2 has made a play on the ball. In (a) and (b) S2 is restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game.

In either case can B1 take her defensive position or is she considered to have left the game for her second time?

I think by rule, even in (a) that the coach would need another unused sub to fill that spot... but I just never remember it being discussed.
Actually, S1 would be eligible to re-enter for B1 (or another unused sub could also be subbed for B1), but B1 and S2 are toast.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 12:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Your answer is in the casebook; specifically 3.4.1 Sit B. An illegal sub enters for F4 and is discovered one out later. "F4 may only return if she has re-entry eligibility."

In your case, B1 left the game for the second time. No re-entry, need a new sub.

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 06:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
Your answer is in the casebook...
Thanks. I had missed that.

Also, bkb, good catch.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dacula, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,775
Quote:
Originally posted by SC Ump
NFHS (but I think all are the same.):

The opposing coach notifies the PU of the illegal substitution (a) after S2 has taken position on the field or (b) after S2 has made a play on the ball. In (a) and (b) S2 is restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game.
Picking some minors nits ....

In NFHS, a substitute is in the game once announced (which should NEVER happen in this case!!), or, if unannounced, when she takes her position in the field AND the umpire makes the ball live. Therefore, (a) might be premature.

In ASA (4-6.B), a substitute is not in the game, even if reported, until a pitch (legal or illegal) or a play (could be an appeal) has been made. Therefore (a) may result in nothing, and B2 COULD return if the substitution didn't (yet) happen.

In NCAA, subs cannot re-enter, so this play is unlikely. However, an illegal player is in the game as soon as reported, or if unreported, as soon as discovered. However (and this would be a wonderful question to the rules editor), illegal players can warm up other players; if I were the offending coach, I would argue that, until the ball is made live after the half inning, the illegal player was only acting as a warm-up player, not an intended substitution.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
"Illegal Substitution"

Five yard penalty. Repeat down.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1