The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally posted by SC Ump
NFHS (but I think all are the same.):

The opposing coach notifies the PU of the illegal substitution (a) after S2 has taken position on the field or (b) after S2 has made a play on the ball. In (a) and (b) S2 is restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game.
Picking some minors nits ....

In NFHS, a substitute is in the game once announced (which should NEVER happen in this case!!), or, if unannounced, when she takes her position in the field AND the umpire makes the ball live. Therefore, (a) might be premature.

In ASA (4-6.B), a substitute is not in the game, even if reported, until a pitch (legal or illegal) or a play (could be an appeal) has been made. Therefore (a) may result in nothing, and B2 COULD return if the substitution didn't (yet) happen.

In NCAA, subs cannot re-enter, so this play is unlikely. However, an illegal player is in the game as soon as reported, or if unreported, as soon as discovered. However (and this would be a wonderful question to the rules editor), illegal players can warm up other players; if I were the offending coach, I would argue that, until the ball is made live after the half inning, the illegal player was only acting as a warm-up player, not an intended substitution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1