The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2001, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 44
Post

I need help on finding a rule. National Fed. Rules
Here is the situation. Two outs with runners on second and third. Ground ball to shortstop who bobbles ball and drops it. Once the runner on second sees the ball bobbled heads to third. Runner on third is heading home on the pitch. The shortstop decides to throw to third. I am base ump sees a tag and calls the third out. Mean while the runner on third crosses home plate before the out. Now a discussion happens on whether the run scores. The plate umpires ask my opinion and I say that if the third out is not a force play and the runner crossed the plate before the third out the run counts.
One of the coaches feverishly goes through rule book for the next two innings and then convinces the plate umpire that the run should only count if the batter-runner made it to first before the third out.
Someone help me here. I can't find the rule the coach showed the plate umpire. As it turned out it was not a close game. Home team 10 visitors 2.

[Edited by collinb on May 3rd, 2001 at 01:27 AM]
__________________
Collin B
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1