The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 07, 2005, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
awarded bases

I've been away from the game for a few years, the answer to this question seems obvious, but I have a question.
Bases loaded, bottom of 7th (last inning), score tied. Batter walks to score winning run, but batter in celebration does not touch first and leaves the playing field. The defense throws the ball to first, ump calls him out, run doesn't count and off to extra innings we go. Seems correct, but is the fact that the base is awarded change anything about the batters responsibility to touch first? The runner on third was also awarded home with what was supposed to be the winning run (not relevant I suppose, but...).
I seem to remember something about awarded bases that might differ, but it's been so many years, I just can't say. I did not see this incident, the story was related to me. I think the ump did the right thing, but did he? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1