The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2005, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
I can partially agree with Sean. Interference while in contact with the base would have to be intentional in your judgement. That is an ASA casebook play (although on 1B) 8.9-7; ruling is foul ball, no interference, per 8.8-M, and POE#33 1.A(c), if runner is in contact with a legally held base, unless hindrance was intentional.

But, if interference is called (runner was off the base, or act was intentional), you always rule the player who interfered out; if this stopped catching a routine fair or fly with normal ease, both are out (ASA 8.7-L exception).

If you ruled interference, ball wasn't caught, but it wasn't routine (would have required a good play, although makeable), then runner is out, batter charged a foul strike per POE#33 1.A(d).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1