The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2005, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
This play happened in a game I umpired several years ago. I've never seen a comparable play since then. Let me know if you agree with the ruling we made.

Runner at third base. Nobody out. Batter hits an infield pop-up. The ball is over foul territory between the third base coach's box and the runner standing on third base. The shortstop says, "I've got it," and moves over to make the catch. However, the shortstop, while looking at the ball, runs into the baserunner still standing on third base. Both the shortstop and the runner tumble to the ground. The ball lands in foul territory.

Here's what we ruled: The runner on third base was out for intereference for not getting out of the shortstop's way. Since the ball landed foul, the batter has a strike on him. (Had it been a fair ball, we would have awarded the batter first base.)

Your opinions, please.

[Edited by John Robertson on Jul 21st, 2005 at 01:44 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1