The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 06, 2005, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to ToledoCYOBlue
This situation came up in a recent game at which I was an observer, and I couldn't find something specific in the rule book or case book to address it (doesn't mean it isn't there, I just couldn't find it). NFHS rules were in play for this game.

1-2 count, no runners on base. Pitch came in behind the batter...it grazed her back, struck the bat (still in her hand), and landed in foul territory. Batter made a legitimate attempt to avoid being hit by the pitch.

The plate umpire called a strike. The logic here was clearly that, if she batted the ball, she must have, by definition, swung at the ball. And of course, if a player swings at a pitch that strikes her or any part of her uniform, a strike is called. In this case, strike three, and the batter was called out.

The alternative logic could have been to call a HBP, ruling that the batter did NOT swing at the pitch. Confusion abounded, offensive coach got very upset, etc.

My gut feel is that the umpire's ruling was correct, but I'm hoping to get some feedback from someone more seasoned.

Thanks in advance.

Charlie
__________________
"Much of being smart is knowing what you're stupid at."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1