The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32
Situation:
Runner on 1st, no outs, batter hits fly ball to RF. Runner takes off on contact, no tag up. Ball caught, fielder throws to cutoff, cutoff throws to 2nd baseman nowhere near 2nd then yelling starts - "No tag, no tag." Runner is now around 2B. Second baseman throws to 1B and fielder misses ball and ball rolls into dugout. I signal dead ball and play stops. Runner then retreats back to first underdead ball period. Where do I put the runner? He was around 2b when throw took place heading for 3b.
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it'a made!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,804
Two bases from the runner's position when the throw left the 2B's hand. If runner was between 2nd and 3rd, award is home.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 12:51pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
I would agree with that.

You gave the runner ample time to complete his baserunning responsibilities before the award. It doesn't matter what direction the runner's going, only what the last base touched was.

Although I could make a case that the last base legally touched was 1B at the time of the throw (at the start of the pitch)... and award only 3B.

Thoughts anyone?
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
SRW,I think we debated this in a different forum before...(going to borrow 2x4 from Rufus.)

The last base legally touched was still second base. Ya gots to let them complete their responsibilities (retoutching first), but if they were around second going to third at the time of the throw, the award is home.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32
I guess my dilemma comes from ..........

1. Dummy runner was off around 2b but no tagup
2. I signal dead ball, play stops. This allows him to retreat, no penalty and no chance of appeal by defense.
3. We now reward him by "awarding" him, for being dumb, home?
4. Dummy defense was also created mess in that it tossed the ball in dead ball territory.

It just seems that the home award is too much.....but of course....rules are rules. I had no clue about the award at the time and just gave him 2B .... but now I can see that wasn't right....

My gut says ..... runner, you got saved by a defensive error that allowed you to avoid being surely put out. Count your blessings you could retreat to 1B without penalty .... but my gut wasn't right giving him 2B either.

Are we finished? Is home the award?
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it'a made!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Avoid the gut. Avoid what "seems" fair. Go by the book. 2 bases from the last legally touched base from the TOT. The award is home.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 02:27pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by bkbjones
SRW,I think we debated this in a different forum before...(going to borrow 2x4 from Rufus.)

The last base legally touched was still second base. Ya gots to let them complete their responsibilities (retoutching first), but if they were around second going to third at the time of the throw, the award is home.
I said that SPECIFICALLY for Rufus... I'm glad you caught it and will share it with him!

Seriously tho, I believe awarding home is the correct thing to do in this situation.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 306
In USSSA Slow pitch if the runner was returning to first when the ball was thrown out of play then they would be placed a second. Direction of travel does matter to USSSA
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 248
Those who say the award is home are correct (POE #38).

"Runners are always awarded two baseson overthrows which go out of play or become blocked as a result of hitting loose equipment belonging to or a team member of the defensive team that does not belong on the field. Regardless of who made the throw, two bases are awarded from the last base touched at the time the ball left the hand. Direction of runners has no bearing on the award. When an overthrow is made on a runner returning to a base, the runner is awarded two bases from that base. EXCEPTION: If the runner was returning to first base and the throw was from the outfield and it left the outfielder's hand while the runner was between 2B and 3B, but the runner was between 1B and 2B when the ball went out of play, the runner would be awarded home."
__________________
"Golf is deceptively simple and endlessly complicated.
It satisfies the soul and frustrates the intellect.
It is at the same time rewarding and maddening-it is without
a doubt the greatest game mankind has ever invented."
Arnold Palmer
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2005, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Even though the POE may use the phrase "last base touched", the rule doesn't, and this phrase in the POE causes a lot of unnecessary misunderstanding of the award.

"Last base touched" or "last base legally touched" or simlar language have absolutely nothing to do with the base award.

The award is dependent upon one thing - the position of the runner at the time of the throw.

If the runner has missed a base or left early, that has no bearing whatsoever on the award. If the runner does not return to retouch then the runner remains liable for out on appeal.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 28, 2005, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,400
Wink

Which means even if the runner missed 2nd, but passed it, the award is home. Assuming that the runner touches 2nd after tagging up at 1st.

Most of the time, I respond to those thinking two bases is too much by saying it really is a two base limit on the runner when the ball is often unplayable by the defense. Especially when it's the BR or a runner who was on 1st. This is one case where that does not really fit, as the runner was also at fault.

BTW, a play we had recently. Runner on 1st, batter hits ball to F6. F6 looks at 2nd, decides it's too late, thinks again and throws over 1st into dead ball land. As BU in B, I was judging the timing as well, to get ready for the call. I saw that by the time F6 decided and finally threw, the runner reached 2nd. Even better, my PU partner was watching the same lead runner, so we had no trouble agreeing on the award of home. The runner's team won the game by one run.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2005, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 72
Could someone comment on NFHS rule 8-4-3-g, exception (2). The penalty says a runner may return to touch a missed base or base left too soon..., but exception 2 says no runner may return to touch a missed base or base left too soon if she has advanced, touched and remains a base beyond the missed base or base left too soon. I'm really not clear on the apparent contradiction here. What do they mean by "remains"? HELP!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1