View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2005, 04:13pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Even though the POE may use the phrase "last base touched", the rule doesn't, and this phrase in the POE causes a lot of unnecessary misunderstanding of the award.

"Last base touched" or "last base legally touched" or simlar language have absolutely nothing to do with the base award.

The award is dependent upon one thing - the position of the runner at the time of the throw.

If the runner has missed a base or left early, that has no bearing whatsoever on the award. If the runner does not return to retouch then the runner remains liable for out on appeal.
Reply With Quote