The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 68
A person at the office asked me for a ruling and I do not have my rule book with me. I think I know the correct answer but want to be sure.

R1 on 2B, BR hits low fly toward F6, R1 is running in front of F6 who is playing behind the base line, F6 could have caught the ball for an out but slows down since R1 was coming and lets the ball bounce, F6 throws to 1B but to late for the out.

What is the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 11:06am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally posted by strike4
A person at the office asked me for a ruling and I do not have my rule book with me. I think I know the correct answer but want to be sure.

R1 on 2B, BR hits low fly toward F6, R1 is running in front of F6 who is playing behind the base line, F6 could have caught the ball for an out but slows down since R1 was coming and lets the ball bounce, F6 throws to 1B but to late for the out.

What is the call?

F6 could have caught the ball for an out?

She should have, might have doubled R1. I have R1 at 3B, BR safe at 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
The penalty for interference is a spot foul, automatic first down.

Seriously - this is a VERY HTBT situation. If runner did (in the umpire's judgement) interfere with F6's ability to make the catch, you have interference (immediate dead ball and an out on the runner, BR to 1st).

If she didn't (again - in the umpire's judgement) intefere, and F6 just had a brainfart, there is nothing to call. Either way, it's judgement and very hard (for us) to call without seeing it.

It's hard (not impossible!) to call interference on a runner in this sitch without either A) contact, or B) intent, but the fielder DOES have the right of way here. Problem is that there is a HUGE grey area of cause and effect on a play like this, and for it to be interference, the runners actions have to have an effect on the fielder.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by strike4
A person at the office asked me for a ruling and I do not have my rule book with me. I think I know the correct answer but want to be sure.

R1 on 2B, BR hits low fly toward F6, R1 is running in front of F6 who is playing behind the base line, F6 could have caught the ball for an out but slows down since R1 was coming and lets the ball bounce, F6 throws to 1B but to late for the out.

What is the call?
As offered, DMF.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1