The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2005, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 242
NCAA covered this at their clinics this winter, so this is just NCAA speaking. Their intrepretation is that a strike cannot be called until the ball crosses the plane of the strike zone. If the batter is hit in front of the plate before it crosses the plate, she is awarded 1st base. The kicker here is that she still must make an attempt to get out of the way of the ball, and that is your judgement. If you rule she did not make an attempt to get out of the way, it is just a dead ball and ball on the batter. Then get ready to catch flack from both coaches. The trick is you have to sell your call really strong.

There was a lot of concern from umpires that we are penalizing the defense for doing exactly what they are supposed to do (throw the ball in the strike zone).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1