View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2005, 05:14pm
NorthAlaUmp NorthAlaUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25

NFHS: "SITUATION 15: Batter B2 has a 2-2 count with a runner on third base. On the next pitch, B2 runs toward the front of the box and actually steps out of the front of the box when (a) . . ., (b) she steps toward the ball and is hit in the strike zone, (c) . . . and (d) . . .. RULING: In (a), . . .. In (b), dead ball and a strike three is called; B2 is out. . . .. (7-2-1g; 7-3-2; 7-3-4; 7-3-5)

This is presented as a Rules Interpretation by NFHS in Referee Magazine. Now, how can she be hit "in the strike zone" if she stepped out of the front of the batter's box (if it's laid out properly)?

Rule 2-56-4 defines "Strike Zone" as "the space over any part of home plate which is between the batter's highest shoulder and the knees when the batter assumes a natural batting stance." Almost 4 feet in front of the plate hardly equates to "space over home plate." (Unless, of course, we have a "home plate extended" as Football has a neutral zone extended.)

Maybe the Interpreters need to re-word this situation so that it says that if she is hit by a pitch that would have, in the umpires judgment, entered the strike zone, it is a strike.

Again, just playing devil's advocate here.
Reply With Quote