The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Playing Devil's Advocate and Picking Nits (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19480-playing-devils-advocate-picking-nits.html)

NorthAlaUmp Fri Apr 01, 2005 05:14pm

NFHS: "SITUATION 15: Batter B2 has a 2-2 count with a runner on third base. On the next pitch, B2 runs toward the front of the box and actually steps out of the front of the box when (a) . . ., (b) she steps toward the ball and is hit in the strike zone, (c) . . . and (d) . . .. RULING: In (a), . . .. In (b), dead ball and a strike three is called; B2 is out. . . .. (7-2-1g; 7-3-2; 7-3-4; 7-3-5)


This is presented as a Rules Interpretation by NFHS in Referee Magazine. Now, how can she be hit "in the strike zone" if she stepped out of the front of the batter's box (if it's laid out properly)?

Rule 2-56-4 defines "Strike Zone" as "the space over any part of home plate which is between the batter's highest shoulder and the knees when the batter assumes a natural batting stance." Almost 4 feet in front of the plate hardly equates to "space over home plate." (Unless, of course, we have a "home plate extended" as Football has a neutral zone extended.) :D

Maybe the Interpreters need to re-word this situation so that it says that if she is hit by a pitch that would have, in the umpires judgment, entered the strike zone, it is a strike.

Again, just playing devil's advocate here. :D

DNTXUM P Fri Apr 01, 2005 09:09pm

NCAA covered this at their clinics this winter, so this is just NCAA speaking. Their intrepretation is that a strike cannot be called until the ball crosses the plane of the strike zone. If the batter is hit in front of the plate before it crosses the plate, she is awarded 1st base. The kicker here is that she still must make an attempt to get out of the way of the ball, and that is your judgement. If you rule she did not make an attempt to get out of the way, it is just a dead ball and ball on the batter. Then get ready to catch flack from both coaches. The trick is you have to sell your call really strong.

There was a lot of concern from umpires that we are penalizing the defense for doing exactly what they are supposed to do (throw the ball in the strike zone).

SC Ump Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by NorthAlaUmp
...is hit in the strike zone...
So if I understand your concern, then Referee Magazine should have stated <b>is hit in the <s>strike zone</s> space/time continuum immediately preceeding the actual strike zone, in which had the contact not occurred physical laws of matter would have proved that the ball would have indeed subsequently immediately entered into the actual strike zone...</b>

Well, actually it was worded that way in the edition reprinted for the Mensa Fastpitch Tournament held in Rancho Cucamonga. :)

kellerumps Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DNTXUM P
NCAA covered this at their clinics this winter, so this is just NCAA speaking. Their intrepretation is that a strike cannot be called until the ball crosses the plane of the strike zone. If the batter is hit in front of the plate before it crosses the plate, she is awarded 1st base.
No in this case we have NO Pitch and a do-over. See page 131 Rule 11-16-4 in the 2005 Rule Book.

DNTXUM P Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:19pm

Sorry, I did not see the part about stepping out of the front on the box. You are correct. The NCAA ruling I was referring to was referring to a batter stepping out of the box at on the plate side of the box and getting hit.

NorthAlaUmp Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:25pm

Quote:

So if I understand your concern, then Referee Magazine should have stated <b>is hit in the <s>strike zone</s> space/time continuum immediately preceeding the actual strike zone, in which had the contact not occurred physical laws of matter would have proved that the ball would have indeed subsequently immediately entered into the actual strike zone...</b>
:) [/B]
Didn't really need to look at the profile to know an engineer posted this one. :D

"Space/time continuum" indeed! Gotta love this place!

IRISHMAFIA Sat Apr 02, 2005 01:30am

This is what happens when you allow coaches to carry the major weight in the making of rules. I'm sure the coach has no problem if it's THEIR batter, but what about the other side of the story.

Why is the batter out of the box to begin? Let's change the rule to just rule the batter out for interferring with the defense's right to attempt to put the batter out on strikes. :)


DNTXUM P Sat Apr 02, 2005 08:14am

This is what happens when you allow coaches to carry the major weight in the making of rules. I'm sure the coach has no problem if it's THEIR batter, but what about the other side of the story.

Why is the batter out of the box to begin? Let's change the rule to just rule the batter out for interferring with the defense's right to attempt to put the batter out on strikes.


Sounds so simple. Now if you can figure how to make that happen....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1