The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 04, 2005, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I concede the ruling - I was wrong. But, this is just to explain my reasoning.

Assume the offensive coach approached the PU after the first pitch to B5. At that point, 7-2-C-1 says the correction may be made without penalty. Hence, B5 is replaced at bat with the legal batter, which is B4, but since according to 7-2-C-4, B4 cannot be removed from the base to bat, B4 is skipped without penalty. It does not say B4 is not the proper batter. It says IF the proper batter is on base, don't remove the runner to bat but skip the proper batter. Fine.

OTOH, suppose B5 completes the turn at bat and the defense appeals. The rule to be applied is now 7-2-C-2. And 7-2-C-2a says the batter who should have batted is ruled out. The batter who should have batted is B4. 7-2-C-4 does NOT say if the proper batter is on base, the proper batter may not be ruled out for failure to bat. It says the proper batter may not be removed from the base to bat. Hence, my reasoning - B4 is ruled out.

__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1