The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2005, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by wadeintothem
I dont see how intent can be read into the question... least of all "obvious" intent (if you consider this a double play to apply that portion of the rule - which is the only portion of the rule that gets the lead runner called out).

According to 8.2.H EFFECT (of BR interference): (besides BR being out):
The ball is dead and runner(s) must return to last base legally touched.

Your referenced 8.6.C also supports Runner must return to base... not calling out the R1.
Even a rookie umpire who attends clinics knows that when an umpire rules interference, three things happen:

The ball is dead, an out is ruled, and all runners must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.

The batter has already been ruled out and you cannot have the same player called out twice on the same play. Since the interference was not that of an active runner or batter, the runner closest to home is ruled out.

BTW, not my references, that is from the test answer sheet and the casebook (2005-2006).



[Edited by IRISHMAFIA on Feb 20th, 2005 at 11:24 PM]
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1