The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2004, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by hahnhdwe
thanks for correct wording Dakota. If BR misses 1B and is between 1B & 2B I would award 3B. It would still be up to defense to appeal missed 1B if BR does not return. BR would still have right to return to touch 1B(8.5g2). Question IF the ball is dead and the defense appeals before runner returns to first would you then have to wait to see if runner will return before calling him out. Does this mean the defense could lose their appeal by tipping the runner off that they know he missed.
The runner may return until he has advanced to or beyond the first awarded base. In your situation, that would be 2B. Once the runner has touched an awarded base after the umpire has made the award, he may not return to a missed base. Before hearing a dead ball appeal, the runner must be allowed to complete his base running. Once he has stopped on his final base, then hear the appeal. And, yes that does mean the defense can tip the runner, who then can return to retouch before the appeal will be heard.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1