The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 03, 2004, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Exclamation

Did a tournament this weekend using ASA rules modified
co-ed where a could play 7 men and 3 women with the ruling the women must bat in the top half of the line-up using the normal m/f rotation. Problem occured when team A turn in a line up where in the 5th and 6th spots they had persons of the male gender batting. Team B waited till after the 6th batter batted then appealed the improper line-up wanting a BOO ruling invoked. Did not believed that we could invoked a BOO because team A did follow the line-up they actually turn in though it was improper.

Question: Should we have invoked the BOO as team B appealed
or is this just considered improper line-up and should be changed before the next time through the line-up without penalty?

Thanks

Don
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 03, 2004, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Ummm... I don't know the answer, but after trying to decide what to do, I decide that I would do the same thing as if a normal co-ed team had an improper line-up, perhaps batting in the order, m-f-m-m-f-m-f-m-f-f.

What does the rule book say to do if the above occurs? Perhaps the line-up exchanged at the plate only had last names and the umpire didn't realize that the official line-up did not have an alternating male/female order.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 03, 2004, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally posted by oppool
Did a tournament this weekend using ASA rules modified
co-ed where a could play 7 men and 3 women with the ruling the women must bat in the top half of the line-up using the normal m/f rotation. Problem occured when team A turn in a line up where in the 5th and 6th spots they had persons of the male gender batting. Team B waited till after the 6th batter batted then appealed the improper line-up wanting a BOO ruling invoked. Did not believed that we could invoked a BOO because team A did follow the line-up they actually turn in though it was improper.

Question: Should we have invoked the BOO as team B appealed
or is this just considered improper line-up and should be changed before the next time through the line-up without penalty?

Thanks

Don



Many Coed leagues have rules that cover back to back sexes in the lineup.
Any time same sexes bat back to back, an out would be taken between the two, and they both still get to bat.
Most our our leagues and tournaments use this rule.
__________________
omq -- "May I always be the kind of person my dog thinks I am."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 03, 2004, 10:06pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ummmm, didn't the tournament director or UIC give you a ruling or guidance how to handle this? It sounds like there is no issue, since the team sounds like they followed the modified ruling for the tournament. Your situation has some holes I'm curious about.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 04, 2004, 06:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 15
Our local rec leagues use two batting orders with m/f alternating when we have an odd number of male or female players. when the last female batter batted the 1st female batter would follw the nex male batter etc
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 04, 2004, 06:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Don,

Local rules require local solutions.

It seems that BOO would be appropriate, but it would be up to those who modified the rule to provide a resolution.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 05, 2004, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally posted by oatmealqueen

Many Coed leagues have rules that cover back to back sexes in the lineup.
Any time same sexes bat back to back, an out would be taken between the two, and they both still get to bat.
Most our our leagues and tournaments use this rule.
genders
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1