The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 30, 2004, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
ASA rules 12U R1 on first, fly ball to Right field, runner leads off ball caught and R1 heads back to 1st, fielder throws to 1st. F3 is standing in front of the base to catch the ball, contact was made prior to F3 having possession of the ball. I call dead ball, obstruction runner is back on first. Defensive coach says "she had room to slide in without hitting her." He is correct, she was standing with her legs slightly apart and if the girls would have made a perfect slide she could have gotten her leg to the base if she stretched. Anyway this brings up my question. Is it OBS any time that contact is made prior to the fielder having possession of the ball? My thought is yes. So if the fielder even had a foot in front of the bag, leaving 6" of bag exposed if the runner slides into the foot and contact is made prior to the fielder having possession of the ball I would have OBS runner safe. What do you all think?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1