The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2004, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
If as BR headed back toward 1B the pitcher went from making a play to standing in the circle (not necessarily on the rubber as in your post) without making a play, BR could indeed reverse direction and run toward 2B without violating the LBR. The fake cancelled everything that happened before it. We start anew when the pitcher ceases to be making a play. The runner is entitled to one stop/change of direction at that point.

If the BR does choose to reverse direction and run for 2B, she must stay in motion toward 2B until F1 makes a play.

If the BR was stopped when F1 ceased making a play, and then BR started back to 1B, she could not reverse direction or stop again.

Do not be misled by the POE (don't have the book with me) that says if the runner is in motion toward a base, she must continue toward that base. It's wrong.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1